Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL

3.4
2499 Reviews
$31 to $50
Japanese
Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana is located on the Intracoastal in Lauderdale by the Sea. Enjoy the view of yachts and boats passing by. Join us for Happy Hour in our bar and lounge Monday through Friday from 4–7 p.m.
Looking to host a get together for friends or colleagues? Our lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner drinks and appetizers. Please call for more details for a private event in the lounge or our private room. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Support Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
Physical Distancing
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 2499 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.4based on recent ratings
4.0
food
3.2
service
3.3
ambience
3.3
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Miami
2 reviews
Dined a day ago
Overall1food1service1ambience1

We waiting over 30 mins to be seated even with reservations, service to be waited was very very slow and it more than hour and half that we just sat there with no chef to cook for us and told us we would have to wait for a chef to finish cooking at the other tables in and then we would have a chef it was little after 10:30 pm so I just made a decision to leave because by the rate it was going I don’t think would’ve ate by midnight and the staff was very unapologetic as well no type of apologies or any kind of comp cards given for the inconvenience that was caused to us .

N
Nancy
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall2food4service3ambience3

We, party of 5 were put at the table for 6 with a party of 3 that we didn’t know. We sat literally shoulder to shoulder. Woman next to me couldn’t have her drink without hitting me with her elbow, We waited for chef for over an hour. Place was extremely loud , staff except for few exceptions , rather unfriendly.

CC
CierraC
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience4

The waiter did not put my order in correct. I asked for Habachi chicken with two fried rice and he only put in two fried rice. The chef had to run to the back to get chicken to cook for me which caused me to wait another 20 minutes for my full meal.

PT
PaulaT
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall3food5service5ambience4

Me and my husband went with a reservation for 2:45pm. Hungry and ready to eat and we had to wait 45min to an hour to eat. I do not see the point of a reservation if is not going to be full-filled in 20min max. This is very discouraging to ever go back, because there is no point If the treatment is the same as if you walk in.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded a day ago

Dear PaulaT Thank you for sharing your review. We understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website. Your feedback helps us to make improvements, and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Miami
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall1food4service1ambience1

The hostess was extremely rude, very unprofessional. We shared our experience with her direct manager, which was promptly addressed. After a while, the hostess began pointing at our group and then her coworker passed by making snide comments. It made for an uncomfortable environment. We considered leaving, but decided to make the best of it. WRONG IDEA! The server was slow, failed to communicate with us on delays, and nonchalant when we asked about status of our order. This location has gone downhill.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded 5 days ago

Dear Guest On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website

Report
FR
FREDERICKM
Miami
1 review
Dined on September 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

not a big talker lol not a big talker lol not a big talker lol not a big talker lol

U
Unknown
1 review
Dined on September 10, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

These ppl are very rude and during booking reservation it does not state shared table I have been there before to another location not during COVID time and did not have to share no table you would thing now do to COVID they would be more caring about social distance and separating parties makes absolutely no sense. Enjoyed dinner at the cheese cake factory so they didn’t ruin our dinner.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Key West
3 reviews
Dined on September 8, 2021
Overall1food4service1ambience1

9 pm reservation had no chef until 10:30

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 8, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Loved the experience.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Miami
1 review
Dined on September 6, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

I got there at 3:40 and Waited an hour and a half and didn't get a cook so we left

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded 6 days ago

Dear Guest We apologize for your recent visit. To better assist you, please contact our team via the Contact Us page on our website.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2021
Overall3food5service3ambience5

Birthday celebration for our son. The chef was very quiet. Unusual for this place. He even forgot the mushrooms and had to be reminded by guests.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on September 9, 2021

Dear Guest On behalf of our team here at Benihana we would like to sincerely apologize for the negative experience you encountered, especially while celebrating a special occasion. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website so we can properly address your concerns.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience3

We got there at 2:05, waited 10 minutes to be seated. After 20 minutes thirsty, we decided to call a waiter- is like we were invisible, - and she finally took our order. The chef got to our table at 2:45. It was an acceptable meal, but for sure not to go there hungry. Lack of service😳.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on September 9, 2021

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your review. We understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website. Your feedback helps us to make improvements, and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato.

Report
S
Salm
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wow. From the moment we walked in. Great food. Fun and entertaining experience.

OB
OpalB
1 review
Dined on September 3, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

I made a reservation with specific instructions for a table close to the water. Got there had to wait, then the person seating us tried to stick us in a booth. They did not seem too happy when we refused, so we had to wait additional time. The server was slow with all her serving which caused the entire course to go wrong. The chef was good. Waited a long time for only 2 ppl to sing happy birthday to my mom, when all the other tables before and after had 4 to 5 servers singing. Been to 3 other locations and this was the worst.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Miami
1 review
Dined on August 30, 2021
Overall3food5service3ambience3

Was the last seated at the table around 7:45. Cook did not come to table until 9:15.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on September 1, 2021

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your review. We understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website. Your feedback helps us to make improvements, and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato.

Report
DW
DonyaW
1 review
Dined on August 29, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Everything was perfect the food the time the waitress was okay the front desk was perfect thank you

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on September 1, 2021

Dear DonyaW We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the dining experience!

Report
M
Morgan
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on August 26, 2021
Overall2food5service2ambience3

The table in front of us was yelling and cursing at the servers and chef. It was extremely uncomfortable. I understand they were short staffed, and wait times being a bit longer, however, I feel like the way they handled the unruly guests could have been done better.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on August 27, 2021

Dear Morgan On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website

Report
B
Barb
Miami
1 review
Dined on August 24, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience5

We had a 6:30 reservation for a birthday, and we were just 5 minutes late, we were sat with a great couple and their little girl. It was close to 7 by this point, we didn't have our cook come until close to 8. They are shorthanded so if anyone needs a job! Go for it.
For the hour we talked, drank, and had our soups, the hour flew. Once the chef came to our table he was funny, a really great cook and did a nice show for us. The over all dinner was excellent. I just think they were short staffed due to the current workforce. Over all GREAT dinner, we are excited to finish off our leftovers tonight! Thank you

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on August 26, 2021

Dear Barb On behalf of the Benihana team we look forward to serving you again!

Report
Z
Zola
1 review
Dined on August 23, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience1

The hostess was not friendly. My notes for the reservation mention a birthday, but no acknowledgement of the birthday during the entire dinner. The overall location was extremely dusty and dirty.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on August 25, 2021

Dear Zola On behalf of our team here at Benihana we would like to sincerely apologize for the negative experience you encountered, especially while celebrating a special occasion. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website so we can properly address your concerns.

Report
JL
JasonL
Fort Lauderdale
4 reviews
Dined on August 22, 2021
Overall5food2service5ambience5

We go to the Restaurant often, we felt that the cooking experience wasn’t as good as before, the cook forgot the sauces, adding ingredients and cooking our steak the way we wanted, the waitress forgot what we ordered. We ordered brown rice not white.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Chile
1 review
Dined on August 21, 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience1

Pésimo servicio. Lento. Ruidoso. Quedamos pasados a comida en la ropa. La comida buen sabor

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on August 23, 2021

Dear Guest We apologize for your recent visit. To better assist you, please contact our team via the Contact Us page on our website.

Report
JS
JulieS
1 review
Dined on August 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

excellent ambiance - delicious food - an enjoyable time as always

ST
SherellT
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
Dined on August 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wesley are a very good cook and very professional……

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on August 24, 2021

Dear SherellT We are happy you enjoyed the Benihana experience! Come back soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on August 21, 2021
Overall2food3service3ambience1

The chef didn’t do any tricks or show…. What a disappointment!
They prepared the food for my two little kids last, they didn’t care about seafood allergies and they sit down us with another people, we are in corona time, don’t want to take my mask off in front of people that I don’t know….

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on August 23, 2021

Dear Guest On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website

Report
BV
BeckyV
New York Area
1 review
Dined on August 20, 2021
Overall4food5service3ambience4

The food was delicious and the presentation from the chef was fun. The only downside was our server did not come back to check on beverages until we were done with our meal and we needed more drinks.

JN
JessicaN
1 review
Dined on August 20, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience4

I was charged for edamame I never received didn’t realize till after I left , also I ordered a rockys choice only received steak so they had to edit my bill for that . And my drink was gross . Thankfully my food was still good regardless of the mishaps..

NW
NimoyW
1 review
Dined on August 9, 2021
Overall2food4service1ambience1

We waited almost an hour for our chef. Very slow service.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on August 11, 2021

Dear NimoyW Thank you for sharing your review. We understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website. Your feedback helps us to make improvements, and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato.

Report
SB
ShanaB
1 review
Dined on August 9, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

BEL at the front desk was the worst!!! She is very disrespectful and awful bringing her own personal insecurities to work and taking it out on customers …. She should know that she’s at work and not at work to give customers a hard time because of her personal insecurities…. She’s definitely not fit for the front she should be removed!!! I didn’t even bother dinning I left

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on August 10, 2021

Dear ShanaB On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website

Report
MR
MelissaR
1 review
Dined on August 8, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was delicious! However I don’t like how they are now charging extra for fried rice when it used to be included in your meal. All other hibachi places I’ve been to do not charge extra for this.

M
vipMark
Miami
54 reviews
Dined on August 7, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Food was great. Rose at bar was very attentive give. Only change I would make is to serve the veggies w the meal. Not serve veg after main protein.

s
shanikaj
1 review
Dined on August 6, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

This server got everyone order wrong was a mess didn’t get everything that come with my meal at all no salad no hot tea no ice cream then was almost over charge if I didn’t pay attention just a disaster

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on August 9, 2021

Dear shanikaj on behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. If you have not done so already, please contact us via the Contact Us page on our website. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and welcome you to ‘Copy/Paste’ your review in order to save time. We look forward to following up with you.

Report
MR
MarkR
1 review
Dined on August 3, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience2

We were sat with a separate group at the same table with Covid 19 I feel like that’s not ok, we spent 150 and it seemed as though the other group was given all the attention by the chef and server. He prepared our rice then proceeded to prepare the other family’s meal prior to preparing our chicken, at this point our rice was either eaten or cold. We didn’t arrive with the other family we shouldn’t be given half service because the restaurant wants more bang for their buck.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on August 6, 2021

Dear MarkR on behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. If you have not done so already, please contact us via the Contact Us page on our website. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and welcome you to ‘Copy/Paste’ your review in order to save time. We look forward to following up with you.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on August 2, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Awful experience, will not be going back. No one wants to be there working and their attitudes / demeanor reaffirmed it. Way to not help me celebrate my birthday ….

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on August 6, 2021

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your review. We understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website. Your feedback helps us to make improvements, and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on August 1, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience4

Took forever to get food

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on August 6, 2021

Dear Guest On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we sincerely apologize for your experience and understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website so that we can further address this matter. 

Report
JL
JLo143
1 review
Dined on August 1, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience1

I understand that hibachi is a communal table seating arrangement but when we are under doing a pandemic and you seat a pregnant woman elbow to elbow with strangers it’s not right. I asked if I could sit across from the opposite party rather than side by side and they made me feel like I was asking for too much and wouldn’t arrange my seating. They said if I don’t like it I can go to the top level to order my food. No wonder why Florida is amongst the highest number of CoVid cases establishments like this that don’t follow guidelines and only care about taking your money. In addition, I was very taken back that this restaurant requires “proper attire” yet everyone had on Jordan sneakers and trashy clothes or barely any clothes at all! The crowd of people in there was so ghetto. I’d rather spend my $50 a plate at a classier establishment. I will never come here again!

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on August 6, 2021

Dear JLo143 On behalf of our team here at Benihana we would like to sincerely apologize for the negative experience you encountered. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website so we can properly address your concerns.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Miami
2 reviews
Dined on July 31, 2021
Overall2food4service1ambience1

Horrible server. Chaotic management. Smoke all over. Worst Benihana in my experience

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on August 6, 2021

Dear Guest On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we sincerely apologize for your experience and understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website so that we can further address this matter. 

Report
E
Emma
1 review
Dined on July 30, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

This was our second time to Benihana within our week on vacation because we just loved it so much. The food is absolutely amazing and it was beautiful to be right on the water.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on July 30, 2021
Overall2food5service2ambience3

The chef was amazing, food was great! Took over an hour to get our sushi appetizers and took about 45 minutes to get the drinks we ordered.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on August 4, 2021

Dear Guest on behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. If you have not done so already, please contact us via the Contact Us page on our website. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and welcome you to ‘Copy/Paste’ your review in order to save time. We look forward to following up with you.

Report
JD
JudyD
Jacksonville
1 review
Dined on July 28, 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience1

We waited over an hour and a half at our table for the chef to come- he was very annoyed and did not do any of usual antics. Waitress was preoccupied- manager stated that all restaurants are short handed but this was ridiculous! We were trying to celebrate a friends birthday but as much as everyone tried- it was a disaster

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on August 4, 2021

Dear JudyD Thank you for sharing your review. We understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website. Your feedback helps us to make improvements, and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato.

Report
MC
MichelleC
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on July 27, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

We were sat at our reservation time, which was the only thing that happened on time. The service was incredibly slow, the food was extremely over cooked, and the staff was unconcerned and apathetic towards guests. We were sat with a family with severe shellfish allergies which caused additional issues and delays. Our food, as mentioned, was over cooked and tasted burnt as the chef seemed to struggle with the cooking times and preparation due to the allergy concerns. We will not be going back to this location again.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on August 4, 2021

Dear MichelleC On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we sincerely apologize for your experience and understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website so that we can further address this matter. 

Report

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL using the Order Online button. Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL also offers delivery in partnership with Uber Eats. Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (954) 776-0111.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL is rated 3.4 stars by 2499 OpenTable diners.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://www.benihana.com/gift-cards/.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL