New-Zealand Green Lipped Mussels , Parsley-Garlic Butter , Gruyere
Topped with Belgian Chicken Stew, Mushrooms, Pearl Onions
tried restaurant dining week menu - tomato soup was delicious. Ordered the scallops but the chef was not pleased with day’s quality so they were very accommodating and provided alternate selections - salmon was coming cooked perfectly.
Staff was very friendly -definitely will be back.
Amazing dining experience! We were lucky to be seated in the back garden for dinner. Just me and my boyfriend. We went for a private dinner to enjoy their restaurant week menu ( recommended by a buddy). The staff were so polite and attentive to us. Stellar recommendations both from the a la cart menu. We picked the restaurant week menu. $39 - soup,scallops,house wine and chocolate mousse. Made our evening! Music, ambience was to my heart’s ,s satisfaction for a winters New York night. I’m going back !
The egg sandwich was not very good- i think the eggs were over cooked and the service was a little slow
Hello Emily, I'm sorry to hear that the Egg Sandwich was not your liking and taste. Our floor staff are always ready to help you and make your experience better. Please bring your request or anything you notice off about the order to the attention of your waiter/waitress and we will be happy to serve you a fresh meal. We do not want to see you go and take your feedback seriously. We cordially invite you back to B.Cafe and hope you will have a better experience with us next time. Thank you.
Restaurant Week menu $39 was amazing!
Stuck in what was likely constructed as”outdoor “ dining now used as overflow space. This likely takes advantage of. I I’d rules for expanded space outdoors. True reality was drafty place with no advantage. Just ugly and unpleasant space.
The food was lackluster. Have been a fan for years but the merguez sandwich was just a soggy mess of bits of sausage. If my memory serves me, it used to be an intact sausage. We went about six weeks ago and my mussels were inedible.
Perhaps it is the pandemic and they can’t get help…
The clientele was grim. Hardly a smile.
I won’t be back for a very long time.
Hello, We are sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience at B.Cafe. We take pride in our food quality and we are taking your feedback very seriously. We wish you would have notified the staff about the quality of your food and I assure you we would have replaced your sandwich with a fresh one and according to your liking. Nevertheless, we will definitely conduct food tasting more often and look into this matter. We apologize again and hope to see you soon in the future!
Love this cozy neighborhood restaurant- The garden is wonderful in the Summer and CRUCIAL in these winters during Covid. The food is consistently good and the service always quick, efficient and friendly- Great place- So happy to have it nearby.
Really solid brunch food. Atmosphere for Sunday brunch was great! Staff was very friendly, service was decent. Still recommend, this is a good choice
The restaurant has created a lovely outdoor atmosphere filled with soft lighting that isolate the diners from the chaos out on the streets.They have lots of heaters working effectively on a late December night. Not overwhelmingly loud. We shared brussel sprouts, a very large bavarian pretzel (a must try) and I had the steak frits. I went around 8 pm and it was not too crowded or noisy. Great service and a very unique product.
Lovely mussels...I tried the lobster flavor...hearty,filling good old comfort food. Perfect location to dine this winter .Good value for money and unique menu. Great dark beers too!
Really nice heated garden area. Went for brunch. Food was fine and service okay. Relaxed atmosphere. Would go again.
Excellent neighborhood gem! Perfectly prepared, fresh food!
Perfect environment for a cold revenging. The red romantic lamps reminded me of Paris. Tried the tomato soup and asked for bread that was served for free. Def going back.
We sat on the lovely indoor garden, which was so nice and cozy. Food and drinks are absolutely outstanding, and the European ambiance was an added bonus!
Many menu items were not available upon seating. Also, the restaurant lacked authenticity in terms of the prepared food. It is a lovely, clean environment; however, I do not plan on dining there again. The food was a disappointment as was the alcohol availability.
BCafe is my go-to neighborhood restaurant. I really came back for the cute garden at the back. I tried the shishito peppers which were delicious ...not too spicy! I felt safe as it was not too crowded and all the servers wore masks. Drop in if you are looking for a quite,classy and cozy evening! :)
Difficult to get good service at B. Cafe for a Saturday brunch. We were seated outside (not requested) under a very hot heat lamp. Atmosphere was loud and got much louder when a young table of 8 was seated directly behind us making it difficult to continue conversation. Food was good but waffle was served cold, without syrup and had to be sent back. Tomatoes ordered on the side were delivered 10 minutes later. B. Cafe has the potential to be 5*, but right now, they miss the mark in my opinion. Also $6 for an iced coffee with NO refill is very excessive even for the Upper East Side location. On the positive, the quiche was delicious. And the farmer's omelet was very good full of asparagus and goat cheese. Would be nice to be offered bread with an omelet.
Hello Shana, Thank you for coming to BCafe.Apologies for the noise you had to bear with but we request you to please bring it to the attention of the staff and we can politely request guests to keep their voice down. We try our best to serve top quality food to our guests and will continue to try and improve service and food delivery to our guests. Your feedback helps us improve and we value it. We will work on it and please come back for more quiche !
Very tasty, a little too bright for my liking. But great service and decisions rich food.
Food was very good and the place has a great atmosphere. Unfortunately the host and servers were not very friendly and were inattentive.
Hello , We apologize for the negative experience you had upon your visit. We train our staff to provide the best experience to our guests and will continue to do so, however, we take the blame if you had a negative experience with any of them. Please feel free to reach out to us at our email address on our website to share the experience with us in more detail. It will help us improve and give our diners a better experience in the future. Thank you.
Chicken stew waffle was fantastic but a little small for the price. Service was nice. Checked in but did not get my points.
I went to BCafe to celebrate my Birthday (Dec baby) with 6 of my friends. It was incredible. It was not too crowded and we received very dedicated and personalized service. The staff I must say possessed very good knowledge of the beers served. They have a long list of Belgian beers and we just trusted the staff with their recommendations. My favorite was the ‘ Triple Karmaliet’.Did not feel rushed and we stayed in their back cozy and warm garden which is sooo cute. The mussels are too good , meaty and the BEST served in UES (even better than Flex Mussels).Definitely going back there SOOOON!
We recently moved back after being away for 8 years and we couldn’t wait to eat at B Cafe again. Always loved it’s ambiance and selection of beers. Unfortunately we left a bit disappointed. Service was mediocre but my expectations are so low these days that this is now the norm everywhere. We sat in the heated back garden which was nice. We weren’t greeted by our server, just came over ready to take our order. One entree arrived incorrect and we didn’t receive an apology or it removed from the bill when it finally arrived 15 min later and the rest of the party was done eating. Food was fine. Beef stew is great, fries were tasty but burger was overcooked. While the waitstaff was impossible to track down the bussers wouldn’t leave us alone constantly filling waters that weren’t low and clearing food that wasn’t finished. Where is the happy medium?! We will go back but only to sit at the bar and enjoy a Belgian beer and fries.
Hello! Firstly thank you for remembering B.Cafe and returning to us. We apologize sincerely for the unpleasant experience you had at BCafe past week. Due to a shortage of staff we were unable to satisfy the high demand in the restaurant. We strive to give every guest a memorable experience and we are currently working on just that. We cordially invite you back to BCafe and we hope we can serve you better. Thank you for your feedback.
Great food , great drinks , nice atmosphere, service was also great
Love it every time we go for brunch
We ended up being only 3 of the 5 the reservation was made for, but it was not an issue for the restaurant. All our vaccine cards were checked and we were given the option of indoor or outdoor dining. Lovely outside patio with heat lamps, but we opted for inside. Took a little longer for initial service for drinks, but once that hurdle was over, we were taken care of without being rushed. I was catching up with friends I hadn’t seen in a few years, so that was no problem. The food was fantastic!
Support this business. Delicious. Support the small businesses that still exist after our government destroyed them. Spend some money with them, don’t let us lose another neighborhood gem. This place is just great.
I went back to B Cafe East after a whiiile...I was pleasantly surprised to see that they had renovated the space (esp the back garden) Perfectly in time for winter!! I went there with my Dad for a quiet meet-up. Calm and cozy is how I would describe the vibe. We ordered the famous 'Laksa Steamed Mussels' and 'Steak Frites'. I would describe the meals as hearty, filling that comes with hot fries. The waiters were very attentive and polite and checked on us at regular intervals. I now know where to go back on a cold evening to nestle and enjoy a comfort meal ! :))
Great neighborhood spot!
Good was okay - service was absolutely terrible. Borderline nonexistent. We saw SEVERAL tables of diners get up and leave after being seating and receiving no attention at all for 20 minutes. This place is severely understaffed which is sad because the food is alright, but not good enough that I’d go through another poor service like that for it
It would be better if it was possible to reserve an indoor table.
Beef stew was amazing. Croquette appetizer was lukewarm and did not taste like it was freshly made. Mussels were ok - broth needed more flavor. Staff were attentive. And back garden is very pretty and protected from the elements.
Great Belgian food, with plenty of choices. Real Belgian beers.
Great atmosphere, nice staff, good food. Loved the back terrace. Good bloody Mary’s. Fun brunch.
There are plenty of table options - inside, outside by the street, and semi-open rear patio. It was a cool November day and the patio was chilly - tables not really heated. The patio was full of families - it's a good setting for dining with kids. I wasn't wild for my veggie croque monsieur - hard and got cold fast. Honestly, the frittes were quite mediocre. Due to supply chain issues, they were out of Belgian hot chocolate and mocha for coffee. Service was rather slow. Overall, not a bad meal but I was expecting better given other reviews I've read. I would probably give B. Cafe one more try on a different occasion.
Very nice, food and service were great.
Great spot for brunch. Friendly staff. Good food. Great value. Outdoor dinning very comfortable.
The food and service were really excellent, and the prices were reasonable. Ambience was good considering we had to eat in the garden. Would definitely recommend as a good place to go to as a regular!
The host and wait person were accommodating and nice. The waffle with over easy eggs and bacon, were delicious, the coffee however was only so so. We sat outside and had a great time.
Had Sunday brunch here.
Great food (we had omelettes, French toast and avocado toasts) and excellent service. Wonderful garden seating out back.
Great brunch, very tasty and well located. Back garden is nice.
B. Cafe is rated 4.4 stars by 1213 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.