Alexandra's at Turf Valley

4.1
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
655 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Open to the public, Alexandra's Restaurant is located in the heart of The Hotel at Turf Valley, in a beautiful setting overlooking the impeccably manicured golf greens. Alexandra's invites you to delight in mouthwatering menu selections featuring inspired reinventions of classic regional specialties, as well as a variety of traditional favorites.
What 655 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
EB
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I would definitely recommend Alexandra's to family and friends. Everything was above par.

b
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall3food5service2ambience4

We were there for these Valentine's Day weekend prix fixe menu. The food was excellent as was the service at the beginning. When it came time for dessert and the champagne toast, I received the wrong dessert, and my girlfriend's champagne glass had lipstick on it. Both had to be sent back and put a damper on an otherwise great evening. I would recommend this restaurant generally but avoid it during extremely busy times. They obviously can't handle it.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on February 19, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that your food was excellent, and the service went well in the beginning. I apologize that it did not continue throughout your entire meal. I will make sure our Director of Food and Beverage is aware of the issues that occurred so we can correct them in the future. We look forward to having you back again!

Report
R
Baltimore
3 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall3food1service5ambience4

I came with a friend on Valentine’s Day and we wish we’d know ahead of time that only the prefix menu Valentine’s Day menu was available. When I received a call confirming the reservation, that was not specified. My friend and I ended up leaving and going to eat elsewhere. The waitress was nice and very understanding. I just wish that was clearly stated or posted the site when booking for that day.

TH
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

I had a 7:15 reservation on one of their busiest nights of the year. I was seated promptly on time. the service was great the food was really good . Over all a really good experience.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on February 19, 2020

Thank you for your review! We are so happy you had a great experience and we look forward to having you back again soon!

Report
JT
1 review
Dined on February 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Alexandra’s is a nice place to just unwind & enjoy a meal in a nice atmosphere. The food was great and is not overly priced. The staff was awesome with great hospitality. We be coming back!

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on February 7, 2020

Thank you for your great view! We are pleased you enjoyed the food and atmosphere. We look forward to your next visit!

Report
A
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience3

The food was incredible. The seafood toast is the best! Can't wait to come back.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on February 4, 2020

Thank you for your wonderful review! We look forward to your next visit!

Report
AC
Baltimore
61 reviews
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Visited for restaurant week. Appetizers were very good. Fried green tomatoes we very good with palmetto cheese and jalapena jelly. New York strip had too much fat running in the middlr cooked medium. Not very favorful. Others ordered the Red Snapper entree with risotto and kale. It was very good. Great experience. We had not been to Aleandra for a number of years!

LS
Baltimore
7 reviews
Dined on January 24, 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience4

This was our first visit, and we dined there on a Friday night, and the service was excellent. The speciality drink and our appetizers (small wedge salad, Md crab soup) were great, and dessert (cannoli/homemade whipped cream) also really good. The steaks we ordered were disappointing...done to the correct temperature but a little tough and not very flavorful....nothing special. I would definitely go back and give it another try as the ambiance is very nice, and its comfortable seating and you're not on top of the next table. I'm sure its a beautiful view outside as well when it isn't dark!

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on January 29, 2020

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your feedback and are happy you enjoyed excellent service and some of our great dishes. I apologize that the steaks were not what you hoped for, however we would love to have you back to try some other amazing options. And yes the views outside are beautiful! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report
j
Baltimore
11 reviews
Dined on January 21, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I tried this restaurant during restaurant week and would come back. It is an attractive space with a beautiful outdoor view, even in January, and the food and service were very good. I didn't know it was here although I had heard of Turf Valley so it was nice to find

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on January 29, 2020

Thank you for your great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful view, food and service. We hope you will join us again!

Report
R
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on January 19, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience4

The food was good, but not very exciting. The staff seemed to have forgotten about us. We asked for hot tea. They gave us hot water but never came back to give us tea. I went into a cabinet and got it myself. He didn’t come around to ask us if we wanted more drinks until we were done. Then it took about 10 minutes after we asked for the check to get the check. To be fair it seemed like he was the only person in our area with 10 tables and one table had 12 people’s. Would not go back again.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on January 29, 2020

Hi Ronnie - Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry to hear that your experience was not what we strive to provide! Service is an important part of your dining experience and I apologize that your server was not more attentive. I will pass along your feedback to our Director of Food and Beverage. I hope you will give us another opportunity to impress you with our service and food selections.

Report
SW
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on January 17, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Atmosphere was great. Waitress was attentive but gave us space to be able to talk before
ordering our meal. Service was outstanding.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on January 29, 2020

Thank you for your great review. We are happy you enjoyed the atmosphere and outstanding service. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
LW
Baltimore
7 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall3food3service2ambience3

Went there for New Year’s Eve dinner that had a price fixe menu with limited choices (apps, entree and desserts). Noise level was very high at first making it impossible to carry on a normal conversation. Upstairs music (high volume) thankfully ended half way through meal. Waiter went awol for extended periods. Food was delivered to table by restaurant manager and was overdone. And to top it off, an error was made (subsequently corrected) in the restaurant tab. Disappointing!

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on January 3, 2020

I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your experience. I will pass along your feedback to our Director of Food and Beverage to address the issues the occurred. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will give us another opportunity to impress you with our food and service.

Report
NM
Baltimore
5 reviews
Dined on December 20, 2019
Overall4food3service4ambience3

Filet mignon dish needs better food presentation. They kind of plop the steak on top of a mound of fries.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on January 3, 2020

Thank you for your feedback about the food presentation. I will let our Director of Food and Beverage know. I hope you will come back and try some other selections.

Report
JC
Baltimore
5 reviews
Dined on December 11, 2019
Overall4food3service4ambience4

I probably had the best meal that evening, but if Turf Valley doesn’t work on improving their meals and the appearance of the plate when given to the diner, I don’t think they will survive. I had cream of crab soup, a small wedge salad and the small plate of scallops. I asked the waiter if I could have a small wedge salad instead of the large one. He must have thought that I meant instead of the things that came with the scallops. I was served three scallops on a small rectangular dish with some sauce beneath them. They were delicious, but I wanted the other things that were supposed to come with the scallops. I paid $24.00 for those 3 scallops a the s all wedge salad. Many of the ladies ordered filet,which looked awful. The filet was perched above a large serving of French fries. No plate decoration or vegetable. Many of the filets were not cooked to the diners chosen doneness, but only one lady sent it back. To their credit, the manager brought the corrected filet and had the diner cut into it while he watched. The other meal that looked really good was the black and blue salad. It was huge, and had a lot of properly cooked beef, with many veggies, including asparagus. So, it seems to be a hit and miss. But the filet plates should never be served looking like they did. Our waiter was very nice, but I suspect he was somewhat new. Overall, it isn’t worth going back again.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on January 3, 2020

I am glad you enjoyed the scallops; however, I am sorry that they did not come with the sides as you had hoped. I am glad the manager was able to address the filets that were not cooked as requested. I appreciate your feedback about the presentation of food and items that were hit and or miss. I will let our Director of Food and Beverage know of the issues and I hope you will give us another opportunity to impress you with our food and service.

Report
R
Baltimore
12 reviews
Dined on December 8, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Reservations strongly encouraged...seated right away!!

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on December 12, 2019

Thank you for your review! We hope you visit again soon!

Report
LJ
Baltimore
14 reviews
Dined on November 29, 2019
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Restaurant needs some updating. In the food was just average, nothing special.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on December 3, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We offer many options and change our menu on a seasonal basis. We hope you will give us another opportunity to impress you with other selections.

Report
R
New England
32 reviews
Dined on November 24, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The Sunday Brunch was delicious albeit a bit pricey.
But, you certainly get a lot of food and could go back as many times as you wanted.
It is a delightful way to spend a Sunday.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on December 12, 2019

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed our Sunday Brunch. We look forward to having you back!

Report
OT
Baltimore
15 reviews
Dined on November 17, 2019
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Everything was great, we waited little bit before our waiter came to acknowledge us but once he got our drinks everything was good

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on November 21, 2019

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the initial wait, though we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall experience at Alexandra's. We hope you visit again soon!

Report
OT
Baltimore
4 reviews
Dined on November 16, 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience4

When we sat down the restaurant was not crowded. We had our two young kids with us. The service was pretty slow we sat down at 6:15 and didn’t leave until 8:45). We did not see our waiter very often, only when the food came out. The food was okay. I was excited to try the homemade tarter sauce with the crab cake. It was not very good. I also had the filet which was okay, not flavor. I asked for a steak sauce to hopefully give it some extra taste. It was the house steak sauce. Again, it was okay, nothing great. Overall, the food was okay. The atmosphere was nice and all the staff/servers were very friendly.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on November 21, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. It is our hope that you enjoy an amazing meal with great service each time you visit. I am sorry that was not the case. We are glad you liked the atmosphere and friendly staff, however we realize it takes more to create a wonderful experience. I will share your feedback with our Director of Food and Beverage, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to impress you with dishes you will love!

Report
JH
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on October 20, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Rather expensive, especially with the beverage tax for those who don’t drink alcohol. Live music was great and one of the biggest reasons we’ve eaten there a number of times. Excellent facility.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on October 24, 2019

Thank you for your review and feedback! Glad you enjoy the live music. We look forward to having you visit again!

Report
JW
Baltimore
6 reviews
Dined on October 20, 2019
Overall2food1service1ambience1

This was a really bad experience. The menu looked terrific but only half of the items were there. The line for MTO omelets was 20 minutes long. The service was terrible; had to ask multiple times for "Bottomless" bloody Mary's that were watered down. At $32 each, I was offended. Save your money and go to Golden Corral.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on October 23, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. I want to apologize for your experience. From the service to the missing items on the menu, this is not how we want to portray our restaurant. I will pass along your feedback to our Director of Food and Beverage. I hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to make a better impression.

Report
NA
1 review
Dined on September 26, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The experience was very romantic. It was our 10 year anniversary and we will come back again.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on October 10, 2019

Happy Anniversary and thank you for your review! We are honored you chose to celebrate your anniversary at Turf Valley Resort. We look forward to your next visit.

Report
g
Richmond
2 reviews
Dined on September 9, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I have never had an unpleasant dish at Alexandra's. I love the unique combinations of foods and spices used in the dishes. I love that the menu changes every time I go there with new options. It is my favorite restaurant. Recently had the scallop dish that included tomatoes, leeks, bacon, asparagus, corn & peppers, on saffron pureed cauliflower. Wonderful.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on September 12, 2019

We appreciate your wonderful review and feedback. It is nice to hear that you truly enjoy the unique combination of dishes at Alexandra’s. We look forward to your next visit!

Report
JC
Baltimore
6 reviews
Dined on September 9, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Quiet and nice surroundings. Waitress was great. Most of the food was fine, but the gal who got the brisket sandwich did not like her meal. The menu has a little bit of everything, but I wish there were a few more items to select from for dinner.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on September 12, 2019

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed the setting and your waitress provided great service. We change our menu seasonally and I hope you will come back to try our new selections.

Report
FR
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on September 8, 2019
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Food and atmosphere are excellent. The service is ok. I gave them 4/5 because drink refills take a while.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on September 11, 2019

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that the food and atmosphere was excellent. We will work on our level of service to achieve an excellent rating. Please visit us again soon!

Report
BP
Baltimore
2 reviews
Dined on August 18, 2019
Overall4food3service4ambience4

We had a nice relaxing brunch. Didn’t feel rushed, which was a nice touch. Bottomless drinks was also a win. Nice view of the golf course. Food was good. Choices were nice. Potatoes were a bit hard. Ran out of parfait quickly, and bowls for ice cream weren’t there when I went up. Also, live music was a nice touch, but quite loud. Was difficult to have conversation. So, nice day overall, but there is room for improvement. Oh, and initially I received an email saying we missed our reservation. I commented, and had that corrected.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on August 21, 2019

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed a relaxing brunch with good food and bottomless drinks that were a win! We always appreciate any recommendations from our guests about your dining experience. I will be sure to pass along your feedback to our Director of Food and Beverage. We hope you will visit again soon!

Report
K
New York Area
20 reviews
Dined on August 3, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We are regular diners so we know how good the food can be, but our first time guests raved about the food. They particularly thought the portions were generous. Our server was attentive and professional. The only complaint is that at times the noise level of folks hooting and hollering from the adjacent bar area is distracting, and generally interrupted good conversation at our table. Otherwise, an excellent evening out with friends.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on August 7, 2019

Thank you for your Five Star Review. We are delighted that your guests enjoyed the food and generous portions. We are glad to hear your server did a great job and we truly appreciate you returning time and time again. I want to apologize for the noise level. Though usually a quiet atmosphere, on occasion the noise may travel into the dining area. We look forward to your next night out at Alexandra's!

Report
J
Baltimore
2 reviews
Dined on July 21, 2019
Overall4food4service3ambience3

The food that was offered was of good quality. For a medium to high brunch cost there was not a lot of variety. Service was slow to get drink refills and to clean off the table of the dirty plates. The brunch is help right below the hotel lobby and the noise level was pretty high. It would have been better in an enclosed restaurant setting.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on July 23, 2019

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food though I apologize for the slow service and noise level. We truly appreciate your feedback and I will pass along your comments including increasing the variety of options to our Food and Beverage Director. We hope you will come back to visit us again!

Report
MB
Baltimore
19 reviews
Dined on July 13, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Nice outdoor seating area.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on July 17, 2019

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed our outdoor seating overlooking the golf course. Please come back and visit again soon!

Report
L
Baltimore
7 reviews
Dined on July 2, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Loved the availability of smaller tasting plates (mine was plenty for dinner, especially if you get an appetizer). Food was great, and the view was nice. Our friendly server allowed us as much time as we wanted to connect with friends, refilling our coffee occasionally.

LD
Western NC
5 reviews
Dined on July 2, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience3

Food took a long time, waiter extremely pleasant, shrimp rather dry and tasteless, not chilled. Greek salad very good. Quiet... pleasant ...

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on July 17, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the delay in receiving your food. I will pass along your comments to our Food and Beverage Director. We hope you will give us another opportunity to improve upon your experience.

Report
JV
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on June 30, 2019
Overall5food5service3ambience5

As always, the brunch at Alexandra's at Turf Valley was excellent. Great selection to choose from however, I wish there were more seafood options.

TA
Washington DC
16 reviews
Dined on June 20, 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience3

Our server was fantastic. And we were pleasantly surprised to find out that Thursdays are steak night. Loved the crunchy yet tender calamari. My filet and his prime rib were the perfect portions and cooked wonderfully. It was our anniversary, and our server brought us a bubbles toast which paired perfectly with our lemon bar with blueberries gastrique!

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on June 27, 2019

Thank you for your great review! It sounds like you had an amazing meal at our Steak Night. So glad you enjoyed your special dinner. Happy Anniversary! We hope you come back again soon.

Report
OT
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on June 15, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Took my mom out who is currently residing at Encore. We sat outside which was beautiful - right on golf course with a fountain nearby. We switched tables from where they wanted to place us without issue and cleaned the new table readily for us.

Service was excellent -food was much improved from six months ago. We all enjoyed our entrees.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on June 27, 2019

Thank you for your great review. I am happy to hear you and your mom had a great dinner at the table of your choice. We are glad you enjoyed your food and the excellent service. We hope you come back to visit again soon!

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on June 15, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My family and I visited Alexandra's for an early Father's Day dinner. Our server, Joe was friendly and had amazing customer service skills. We began our dining experience with calamari and fried green tomatoes. The calamari was superb. The fried green tomatoes were a slight disappointment. The tomatoes needed more seasoning and as you sliced them with your knife the cornmeal coating fell off. The other downside is you only receive three slices for the price you're charged. The Children's menu has a three course offering which includes soup, entree, and a scoop of ice cream. Alexandra's offers crab cakes as one of their entree choices. For two crab cakes per plate the cost was $38. The crab cakes were moist and came with a old bay dipping sauce. The crab cakes we were served did not contain shell fragments. Overall, we would definitely visit Alexandra's again.

Side note: Alexandra's offers a Sunday Brunch which includes unlimited Mimosas and Champagne for those who drink alcoholic beverages. The cost is $32.95 per person.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on June 19, 2019

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your feedback and will pass it along to our Food and Beverage Director. We love to hear that your server was friendly and displayed great customer service skills. We look forward to having you back and trying more of our delicious options.

Report
LL
1 review
Dined on June 8, 2019
Overall3food3service2ambience3

It’s a beautiful place but the waiters when we first got there were very destructed. I had made an online booking but our table was not even ready and it was 9:15 AM

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on June 13, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. I want to apologize for the wait. I hope the delicious food and beautiful views made up for it. Please visit us again soon.

Report
GG
Washington DC
7 reviews
Dined on May 27, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

What a pleasant surprise! It is a very nice room with a wonderful view of the golf course. Very serene and relaxing AND the crab cakes are the BEST!

Can’t wait to go back for brunch!

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on May 30, 2019

Thank you for your Five Star Review! I am very happy to hear that you truly enjoyed your dining experience at Alexandra's. We agree that our crab cakes are the best and we look forward to welcoming you back for brunch!

Report
LW
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on May 26, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This is the best brunch around, it is consistently good with a very nice atmosphere and view. The staff is always professional, courteous and friendly and the food is delicious

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on May 29, 2019

Thank you for your Five Star Review. We agree that Alexandra's brunch is the best around! Glad you enjoy the views and our friendly staff. Thank you for visiting regularly and we look forward to the next time you join us.

Report
H
1 review
Dined on May 23, 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience4

I enjoyed the restaurant. I was able to have a successful business meeting & the waiters were quite attentive & assistive to concerns regarding wifi & more.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on May 29, 2019

Thank you for your review. Glad you were able to have a successful business meeting while enjoying Alexandra’s. I hope you will visit us again!

Report
AL
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience4

The food was alright, my wife really enjoyed her meal. The only issue I had was that I ordered my steak well done and it came out very pink. By the time I got the waitresses attention and the steak came back out I needed a box because my family was done eating.

Alexandra's at Turf Valley
Responded on May 16, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad your wife enjoyed her meal, however I apologize that your steak was not served as you requested. We hope you will give us another opportunity to improve upon your experience. We look forward to having you back.

Report

Tweets by Alexandra's at Turf Valley