1888 Chop House - Fairmont Banff Springs

4.5
392 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$51 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Set within the impressive Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel, 1888 Chop House is the next chapter in the tradition of extraordinary dining restaurants at the Castle. Executive Chef Robert Ash presents a modern twist on the authentic chop house with a menu focused on prime cuts of Alberta beef, sustainably sourced wild game and Ocean Wise seafood.

Delivering the best Alberta beef with a menu developed through lasting relationships with local farmers and purveyors.

This intimate culinary destination is made for all occasions. From our delectable menu to our spirited cocktails everything you see in front of you is made in-house, ensuring every mouth-watering detail is perfect.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual (no hats, sports wear or torn jeans)
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm


icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(403) 762-6860
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Robert Ash
Open Google Maps
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
405 Spray Ave Banff Alberta
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The hotel's parking is located beside the Convention Center. It is a three-level roofed parkade with 415 parking spaces:

Self-parking: $25 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Valet service: $39 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Electric Vehicles - complimentary
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff.
Fare is $2.00 per person.
The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.
Additional
Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine
What 392 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OT
1 review
Dined on October 14, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Best steaks I’ve has in Southern Alberta, and that is saying something!

Report
Helpful
SH
1 review
Dined on October 10, 2018
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 3

Menu was relative restrictive with pricing designed to manipulate your selections. Small cuts of steak were very expensive. Better pricing was associated with huge pieces of meat. The described preparation of the salmon, chicken, and steaks was basic. Not what one would expect from a refined quality restaurant. Finally, the bread wasn’t fresh. Very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
OT
5 reviews
Dined on October 7, 2018
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 3

TERRIBLE service, food that was marginal at best but charges like it was $$

Report
Helpful
NS
4 reviews
Dined on October 7, 2018
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

We decided on the 1888 Chop House for our Anniversary dinner. The atmosphere was quintessential chop house. Our server was polite, attentive and knowledgeable. We really enjoyed her service. Food was great. The steak and seafood special were perfectly cooked and flavorful. We were however quite disappointed in the wine list. Far to many overpriced bottles with little value selections and not many middle options. Disappointed to say the least.

Report
Helpful
RT
1 review
Dined on October 5, 2018
Overall 2food 3service 2ambience 3

Very disappointing especially for the money. We told them it was our 20th wedding anniversary and we were celebrating. No mention of our anniversary, nothing. We paid for great and got okay. Would never go back again.

Report
Helpful
SF
4 reviews
Dined on September 29, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great service across the board. Everyone was exceptional from Randy the bartender, the servers, managers, everyone. Great wine recommendation as well. Thanks for the great window seat too !!

Report
Helpful
e
21 reviews
Dined on September 29, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food was very good and we felt well cared for. We both ordered the 6oz steak (he ordered beef and I ordered buffalo). It was perfectly prepared and the accompanying au jus was nothing like we had never tasted. The wilted greens side-dish was amazing. Wine selection, even by the glass, was top notch.

Report
Helpful
OT
6 reviews
Dined on September 23, 2018
Overall 2food 5service 1ambience 4

Our waiter was very inattentive and unfriendly. We chose this restaurant for my 50th Birthday and were very disappointed with his service.

The food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
A
2 reviews
Dined on September 20, 2018
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

We had dinner there during our stay at the Fairmont. It was all right but not exactly what I would expect from a restaurant this category. My duck was partly cold and the fish a bit fishy. The service was very good though and the restaurant is stylish

Report
Helpful
OT
12 reviews
Dined on September 18, 2018
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 4

It is not as expected that I would have best steak .

Report
Helpful
VS
10 reviews
Dined on September 16, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 3

Thanks to the most affable and helpful Sharon for arranging to accommodate my difficult set of dietary requirements. Her professionalism and helpfulness is without compare. Through her I was able to enjoy a meal with options tailored to my dietary needs.

Report
Helpful
EC
1 review
Dined on September 16, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Excellent restaurant, wonderful wine list.
Price too high, even for this level of quality.
If they were a bit lower, this restaurant would be a gem!!!

Report
Helpful
D
1 review
Dined on September 16, 2018
Overall 3food 5service 2ambience 3

Delicious food. I had the pickerel and my partner had the boar. Service was extremely slow and the server was very pushy about serving alcohol. Pricey. But good for a special night out.

Report
Helpful
OT
2 reviews
Dined on September 15, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fantastic on every level. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
j
2 reviews
Dined on September 9, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The six of us all enjoyed our meals. The wait staff was great! The wine list was extensive and pricey.

Report
Helpful
d
14 reviews
Dined on September 7, 2018
Overall 1food 2service 3ambience 3

The price was VERY high. Very few no name moderate priced wines most were extremely over priced for the quality. The soup was so spicy it killed all flavors. My steak was ordered medium but was very unevenly cooked some almost medium areas but some places that was still cold and bloody. Generally my steak was not steakhouse quality. We ate at three other moderately priced places in the resort that provided good food at a reasonable price.

Report
Helpful
b
1 review
Dined on September 3, 2018
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 3

Celebrated our anniversary here. Food was great but overpriced. I guess given it’s in the Banff Springs Hotel that’s to be expected. Our table wasn’t by a window which I wish I would of called ahead and requested. Otherwise food was amazing. And service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
JM
1 review
Dined on September 2, 2018
Overall 1food 2service 2ambience 2

We ordered appetizers only and the attitude of the waitress changed. smaller bill = smaller tip?
not very friendly service gives a bad start, in a place that pricy.
My wife had her food, ate, and then, like 20 minutes later, I had mine.
Bad timing and the super greasy potato kinda thick slices coming with my tartare was not up to the reputation of the establishment. over all our worst dining experience of our trip. Sad

Report
Helpful
CL
1 review
Dined on August 31, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

From the moment I walked up to the reception desk I was treated like I was the only person in the restaurant. The staff was extremely friendly. The food was exceptional. The atmosphere was perfect. I was travelling alone and celebrating my birthday and what a treat it was.

Report
Helpful
OT
2 reviews
Dined on August 29, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Wonderful meal, the best meal while in Banff! Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on August 28, 2018
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 4

Very disappointing. Was looking forward to this well rated restaurant. Very very slow service. Sent food back twice. Too bad.

Report
Helpful
RA
1 review
Dined on August 26, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The ambiance was very calming, scenic views from the windows, and calm lighting. The food was amazing, great variety in the dishes and well prepared. The staff were exemplary (excellent suggestion of what paired well with our entree) and very attentive to any question that was asked.

Report
Helpful
JM
4 reviews
Dined on August 26, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Standard steakhouse fare but ridiculously overpriced.

Report
Helpful
MS
4 reviews
Dined on August 24, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at 1888. The service was outstanding, the food was fantastic and the ambiance is exactly what you would want for a fine dining steakhouse experience.

Report
Helpful
KP
1 review
Dined on August 24, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The whole experience at 1888 Chop House was an absolute treat... The ambience, food, wine and service was impeccable...

Report
Helpful
AN
1 review
Dined on August 20, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Absolutely wonderful experience. I was so impressed with our server Adam C, he was knowledgeable, professional, genuine, & courteous. We aren’t starving due to a late lunch so we only had a main course and shared the porterhouse steak. Excellent flavor slightly under cooked (requested medium) in my opinion but still good.

Report
Helpful
OV
21 reviews
Dined on August 15, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 2

I wish the restaurant still had a feel of old-time luxury. Not crazy about the interior decoration. Rally ugly table lamps that seemed to scream 1966. The food was good, if a bit meat centric. I was traveling with a vegetarian and hoped there would be more options.

Report
Helpful
BM
2 reviews
Dined on August 8, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

excellent meal, we would definitely go back. a bit pricey but you get what you pay for.

Report
Helpful
M
2 reviews
Dined on August 5, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

We enjoyed our food and atmosphere ! If you are looking for a good steak, this is the place.

Report
Helpful
B
4 reviews
Dined on July 31, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had the BEST server ever; Jeff. He was absolutely great with our boys, made fantastic recommendations and was all round great. A better person for the job does not exist! The wagu steak was PERFECTION. We will definately be back!

Report
Helpful
LJ
55 reviews
Dined on July 31, 2018
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Excellent service and food preparation. Scallops and duck were excellent.

Report
Helpful
MW
1 review
Dined on July 29, 2018
Overall 3food 4service 5ambience 4

I have eaten at alot of nice restaurants but I've never seen a 7oz steak for $83. There is simply no rationale for their prices other than the fact that they have a captive (hotel) audience. If you are trying to impress someone by over-paying for food and wine, this is the place to bring them!

Report
Helpful
F
3 reviews
Dined on July 29, 2018
Overall 2food 3service 5ambience 4

I’ve been to many expensive restaurants and love to take my family of 5 to have true dining experiences as they are all foodies.
My big complaint about this restaurant is the charge of 40 dollars to valet park. When I spend 1000 dollars dining, I find it insulting to make me wait on a line and charge me to park !
Poor hospitality!
After a great night it was a smack in The face.

Report
Helpful
o
4 reviews
Dined on July 27, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Our waiter Adam was attentive, fun and a wealth of knowledge about the wine list and food. My scallops were amazing and my husband’s and sons steaks were cooked perfectly.

Report
Helpful
MS
1 review
Dined on July 25, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Delicious food! Very pricey, but to be expected. Perfect way to cap a day of pampering at the Willow Stream Spa.

Report
Helpful
JS
1 review
Dined on July 21, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Food was outstanding as well as the service.
I don't usually spend that much for food.

Report
Helpful
MM
13 reviews
Dined on July 20, 2018
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

We heard this was the best restaurant in Banff so very much looking forward to going. The room was lovely with a very nice, albeit small, bar in the entrance. However, there is no view. We had the beef tenderloin which was cooked perfectly yet had some gristle. The baked potato was dry, a bit overcooked but tasty. The wedge salad was a disappointment. The biggest problem was the pace of coursing. We waited over 30 minutes between salad and entree. They acknowledge the added wait with a 'top off' of our wine, a kind gesture, however the original pour looked to be less than 5 oz. We selected a BC red which was not worth the extraordinary price. Our server had let us taste prior to pouring, when we changed to another wine not caring for the first, she poured the second selection into the same glass we used on the first where there was a small amount remaining. I could not recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
TC
3 reviews
Dined on July 15, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The menu is pricey, but the quality of the meal and the service made it worth while.

Report
Helpful
L
2 reviews
Dined on July 13, 2018
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

Not as attentive service as you would expect at this level of restaurant. Wine not chilled before serving, water glasses not kept filled. Sparkling water served at $4 per person was not identified rather filled from a pitcher which implied it was carbonated tap water. No offer of lemon or lime with water. Table not crumbed, napkin not refreshed and refolded when returning to table from restroom., etc. We are frequent fine dining enthusiasts and gave stayed at many Fairmont properties. This dining did not meet the expected caliber. With a $250 bill and no dessert one should not be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
AH
13 reviews
Dined on July 12, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Amazing place, fantastic food and great service. If you visit Banff you must go.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10