Powered By OpenTable: Restaurant Reservations. Right this way.
Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
  • The Black Forest Restaurant

  • Online Reservations

The Black Forest Restaurant
The Black Forest Restaurant
  • Address:
    180 Esplanade Ave
    Harrison Hot Springs, BC V0M 1K0
    Neighborhood:
    Harrison Hot Springs
  • Cuisine:
    German
    Price: CAN$30 and under

The Black Forest Restaurant Details

  • Dining Style: Casual Elegant
  • Website: http://www.blackforest-restaurant.com
  • Phone: (604) 796-9343
  • Hours of Operation: Dinner: Daily: 4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
  • Payment Options: AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
  • Cuisine: German, Austrian
  • Dress Code: Casual Dress
  • Accepts Walk-Ins: Yes
  • Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
  • Private Party Facilities: We can accommodate private dining for group of 50 or over.
  • Private Party Contact: Vicky Ghotra (604) 796-9343

Getting there

  • Cross Street: Next to Beach Hotel
  • Parking: Street Parking
A word from The Black Forest Restaurant
Welcome to BlackForest! We are proud to offer authentic German food that is both memorable and fresh but right here at Harrison Hot Springs. The Black forest restaurant over looks beautiful Harrison Lake just 10 km off Highway # 1. Our restaurant is family owned and operated since 1975 in Harrison Hot Springs. Come and enjoy delicious European food!Continued
Foodspotting photos
See all photos >
Diner Reviews
  • "Have eaten here several times over the years. Food and service is always good. Best schnitzel, large portions, fresh food! We sat out on the patio for dinner. They warned us that the sun was coming around and the patio would get pretty hot, and it did! The music coming over the speakers was terrible, but the food and service more than made up for it!"
    Dined on 6/25/2014
  • "Food was O.K. but nothing special. Cost of food did not warrant the quality. Service was nothing special either. Inside atmosphere was dated and musty and the small patio area outside had a great view but they only had plastic tables and chairs which again did not seem to go with their pricing."
    Dined on 6/22/2014
  • "The Black Forest is hands down the best restaurant in Harrison Hotsprings. When the family that runs the Bavaria Haus in New Westminster took over operations, the BF was already good. They've upped their game, and, with its outdoor patio looking out on Harrison Lake, its a must when staying in Harrison. Favourites are the house salad, the goulash soup, Schnitzel Madagascar, and chocolate mousse. The staff are friendly and efficient."
    Dined on 6/14/2014
  • "Love German food so had to try this place. Jaeger Snitchzel could use more gravey and the Spetzal was a bit dry. Enjoyed the atmosphere."
    Dined on 5/25/2014
  • "Dinner was good , portions good , service prompt , was all Good "
    Dined on 5/17/2014
  • "the server was very friendly and explained to us what their specialties were. my mom, my sister and I went there for mother's day dinner and WOW, was it delicious. the food came at a timely way even though they were busy and we enjoyed it to the last bite. my sister couldn't finish it and couldn't bare to leave it so she got a doggy bag. we will definitely go back there when we go back to harrison hot springs. "
    Dined on 5/11/2014
  • "Had a previous terrific experience a few years ago,so thought we'd go there for a special birthday dinner. We traveled about 45 minutes to have dinner there. The food was good. The service was mediocre at best...it started out great during drink & dinner order but after that....it went downhill. We weren't offered more coffee & when we asked for some, the server said yes but never brought any. We waited WELL over 20 minutes with empty plates with napkins on them after our meal (with her & other servers walking by us multiple times) & it wasn't super busy. I had wanted a birthday dessert but was disappointed with service so we asked for the bill, paid & left. I was a server so i always give places a fair shake but there's no reason for this"
    Dined on 5/1/2014
  • "Very good schnitzel - Pacific and Cordon Blue although the menu included Bearnaise sauce which did not appear, might have been too rich. But the Rouladen was disappointing, light but the spaetzle was dried out, possibly overheated and the sauce was a demi glace when a creamier gravy would have been better. Veggies were dull and dry, could have been presented better if they had been freshly steamed and dressed with bit of hollandaise. Excellent red cabbage as usual."
    Dined on 4/27/2014
  • "This is a very good German restaurant! ... I strongly recommend it for dinner if you are in the area!"
    Dined on 3/21/2014
  • "Our server was friendly, but was missing in action after we were seated. We and finally flagged down the water staff to have her hunt our server so we could place our dinner order. Then another long waiting period. We were seated at 7:00pm, bread at 7:35pm, and then finally our dinners arrived at 7:40pm. But there was a problem. It wasn't our dinners and we did not touch our plates until our server realized that there had been a mix up in the kitchen (she blamed the kitchen). Back through the kitchen doors these plates of food went and a few minutes later, out those same plates came out and delivered to the correct table. 7:50pm our dinners arrived. Horray! Except the beef portion of my meal was cold. We won't be returning ever again."
    Dined on 3/21/2014
  • "Food was pretty good. I had the special "Schnitzel with asparagus" and it was tasty with good side dishes. Service was poor. Bread, food and drink arrived almost all at the same time so it felt like fast food at a high price. We were in and out of there in well under an hour. We went there for a special occasion (my birthday) and had made a reservation for which we showed up right on time. We were seated at a table for 4 (where the waitress hastily cleared the other two places) right next to a serving station. This meant we were constantly bothered by 2 staff members talking to one another while pouring coffee, water, etc. There were empty tables that looked intimate and well away from distractions."
    Dined on 3/14/2014
  • "This was the last of the higher-rated restaurants pn Harrison Hot Springs which we have visited. We hit the Wednesday night specials so ate very inexpensively. The Schnitzel was excellent as was the German beer on tap. Overall a wonderful experience. We will not hesitate to go there the next time we are in Harrison Hot Springs. In our opinion the three must-visit restaurants in Harrison are Morgan's (open only during the summer), the Black Forest, and the Copper Room."
    Dined on 3/5/2014
  • "Always predictably good! We've been here at least half a dozen times and never been disappointed."
    Dined on 2/23/2014
  • "We came on Valentine's day and we had reservations. .we were sat in the very back corner of the restaurant where it was dark and gloomy. Our food covered the whole plate and was very unappealing. I would not return."
    Dined on 2/14/2014
  • "Terrific food. Awesome Schnitzel, excellent Rouladen. Service was VERY slow. We had a reservation, on valentines day and our order MUST have been missed, yet no one cared to admit it as we watched tables seated and then served before us. When we brought it up politely with our server several times over the hour, we were eventually told "WELL... it is Valentines" - Unacceptable excuse. I felt my intelligence was insulted, as we could CLEARLY see table after table coming in after us and then watch them served their dinners before us. The particular couple behind us sat 20 MIN after our order was taken, and they had LEFT before our food arrived. Just tell us you made a mistake and then make it right on the bill like every other restaurant."
    Dined on 2/14/2014
  • "We are a vegan family. The waitress and cook went out of their way to accommodate us, going further than the regular vegetarian meals provided. We would love to see more vegan friendly options, but were very satisfied by their effort and the food provided."
    Dined on 2/14/2014
  • "Great ambience, great service, plenty of room around tables. Great food! Everything we ordered was excellent quality. Our waitress was friendly and comfortable, knowledgeable about the menu (including the beer and wine lists), and always seemed to show up just when we needed her. There were families with small children, couples having quiet dinners, large groups, and the restaurant is arranged in such a way that everyone seemed comfortable, I know we were. I would highly recommend that you give The Black Forest Restaurant a try if you're spend some time in Harrison. I know we'll be booking another reservation when we go back later this year!"
    Dined on 2/9/2014
  • "Our favourite Harrison Hot Springs Restaurant , we are never disappointed and ensure we always visit every time we are in town. Highly recommended."
    Dined on 1/19/2014
  • "Good German food. Service a little slow, but enjoyable."
    Dined on 1/1/2014
  • "For years, we have gone to the Black Forest to enjoy the wonderful German food, the ambience, the service and just the pleasure of repeating a family experience we all enjoy. It is most special to us."
    Dined on 12/24/2013
  • "We look forward to dining here when we are staying at Harrison Hotsprings. The staff are always friendly and accommodating. We made online reservations, but were running a little late due to poor road conditions. We called ti inform them and They had no problems fitting us in when we arrived. The food is always tasty, big portions and they have GF options. You not be disappointed!"
    Dined on 11/15/2013
  • "I booked the reservation on line and in the special comments section I advised that it was our anniversary and that my husband had actually proposed to me in that restaurant. For some reason I thought they might try to recognize this by a nice table or even a mention of the special occasion. They didn't do anything special and we were seated in one of the worst tables. The food was mediocre, the server was nice but the service was slow as they were understaffed. I will try to hang onto the fond memories I have of this restaurant back when it was an amazing dining experience when service was important. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone...ever."
    Dined on 10/26/2013
  • "We had a large group of 13 Our table was ready for us within 5 min or so from arriving which was fine. Unfortunately our drink orders weren't taken for another 15+ minutes and so we didn't have anything to drink for pretty close to 30 minutes! This is always a no no to me as this is quick easy money for a restaurant to make and I always scratch my head a bit when they don't at least get these going immediatelyOur dinner orders were taken at probably the 45 min to 1 hour timeframe and we didn't see our main courses for 2 hours from arrival and then the vegetables were cold but have to say the food was very tasty so no complaints really on the food! Our waitress was very friendly and helpful and I felt doing the best she could."
    Dined on 10/26/2013
  • "We were very impressed with all the meals our party of four ordered from the goulash to the schnitzel dinners"
    Dined on 8/12/2013
  • "We have had lunch and dinner at the Black Forest. We received prompt and friendly service. There is a nice selection of foods. All items were delivered hot and delicious. This is a fine place to go for authentic freshly cooked foods. Since this was a special ocassion it was wonderful that everyone enjoyed their selection . We will be sure to recommend to our friends and make this one of our regular places to visit."
    Dined on 7/8/2013
  • "The Black Forest Restaurant had the best German food that we ever had. We had a late lunch (4:10pm) so it was quiet. The server was experienced, not overly friendly, left us alone to enjoy the nice scenery, and the food was really good!! We had mushroom cap for appetizer and the combo dinner. The bread was warm and soft served with fresh whipped butter. The mushroom was covered in a nice layer of cheese, and mixed with shrimp and squid that was flavorful. The combination dinner offered really great beef rouladen, brawurst and schnitzel. The red cabbage on the side was the best we have ever had. We would definitely go back the next time we visit Harrison."
    Dined on 7/5/2013
  • "The food is plentiful and spectacular. The Brussel sprouts are to die for. first time I tried them. I've never had an issue with my reservation or service except this time. I forgive because the food is worth it."
    Dined on 7/2/2013
  • "We chose this restaurant as we love the range of choices fro Schnitzels and it did not disappoint. Wonderful setting with views of Harrison Lake, Well worth a visit."
    Dined on 6/30/2013
  • "Great Service, but the food has goon down in quailty"
    Dined on 6/10/2013
  • ""I love the Authentic" feel to the place, and the food, if you are looking for good German fare, this is the place to try.The menu offers everything from steak and seafood, pastas, vegetarian foods and of course German & Speciality entrees. The bratwurst was very yummy(they make their own-no fillers) The prices were affordable, and service was pleasant and timely.Highly recommend to try on your next visit to Harrison. Make reservations first ."
    Dined on 5/31/2013
  • "My boyfriend and I love the schnitzel here! We have tried a few varieties and all have been outstanding. We tried one with lobster and it was amazing. The lobster was perfectly cooked. Great wine selection as well."
    Dined on 5/19/2013
  • "That was some awesome German food.... I have only had food like that twice Once was when I was in German and the other was when my Opa would cook.... Amazing food"
    Dined on 4/20/2013
  • "We are regulars for a reason. The food was excellent - as always. And the room provides a decent ambiance. The service was off this particular night - a male waiter who we haven't seen before - possibly preoccupied by another group but left us feeling neglected more than once..."
    Dined on 3/29/2013
  • "The food was amazing and staff were great. Only complaint I could give is table were very close together, couldn't pull my chair all the way out to sit down had to squeeze in after my husband shifted table so I could. Then another couple were seated right beside us so close we could hear every word even quietly spoken. Love the food and staff and would be perfect if a few tables were removed for space."
    Dined on 3/23/2013
  • "Excellent service and food! Have been coming here for years. Highly recommend."
    Dined on 3/22/2013
  • "If you are at Harrison Hot Springs and would like to enjoy some German cuisine, The Black Forest Restaurant is the place to go. Great selection of schnitzel, rouladen and make sure you leave room for dessert. The Black Forest cake is wonderful and the Apple Strudel is the most authentic tasting you would think that you were in Germany. If the weather is nice, be sure to sit outside - the view is spectacular!"
    Dined on 3/8/2013
  • "Not bad to give it a try , nice decore But food was not that good"
    Dined on 3/2/2013
  • "Overall I would recommend The Black Forest and will visit again I am sure. The food and service was excellent, huge portions reasonably quick service and very warm and friendly staff. They were also very accommodating with all our special requests and allergies. I did find it a bit pricey but I was so full and satisfied I figured it was worth it. The only down fall was that the chairs were uncomfortable."
    Dined on 2/27/2013
  • "We go here every time we visit Harrison! Great Schnitzel, Beer and service. OOh and try the escargot to start!! YUM!"
    Dined on 2/22/2013
  • "The food and service was very good. We had a great evening and returned the second night."
    Dined on 2/8/2013