Powered By OpenTable: Restaurant Reservations. Right this way.
Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
  • Pier 23 Cafe

  • Online Reservations

Pier 23 Cafe
Pier 23 Cafe
  • Address:
    Pier 23, On The Embarcadero
    San Francisco, CA 94111
    Neighborhood:
    Financial District / Embarcadero
  • Cuisine:
    Seafood
    Price: $30 and under

Pier 23 Cafe Details

  • Dining Style: Casual Dining
  • Website: http://www.pier23cafe.com
  • Phone: (415) 362-5125
  • Hours of Operation: Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
    Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 5:00 PM
    Dinner : Daily: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
  • Payment Options: AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
  • Cuisine: Seafood, American
  • Executive Chef: Matt Garcia
  • Dress Code: Casual Dress
  • Accepts Walk-Ins: Yes
  • Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
  • Catering: Party platters available for pick-up for events off site.
  • Private Party Facilities: Small alcove available for parties of up to 10. Heated tent with bay views available for groups of up to 60.
  • Private Party Contact: Lara Mitchell (415) 362-5125

Getting there

  • Cross Street: Greenwhich
  • Public Transit: The Muni F-Line light rail stops directly in front of Pier 23 Cafe. We are a ten minute walk from the Ferry Building and ten minutes from Fisherman’s Wharf.
  • Parking: Street Parking
  • Parking Details: There are several public lots within walking distance of the restaurant. Some public parking lots close early so check the signs.
A word from Pier 23 Cafe
Pier 23 Cafe is a unique waterfront restaurant specializing in fresh seafood, live music and beautiful views of San Francisco bay. Family owned and operated for over 25 years, Pier 23 Cafe captures the heart and soul of a city obsessed with food. The large bay side patio allows patrons to soak up the California sun while enjoying creative dishes made from fresh, local ingredients. Night time dining in the heated tent is complimented by maritime activity and amazing views of Treasure Island and the Berkeley Hills. Come down and enjoy a true local favorite and experience some real waterfront history.Continued
Foodspotting photos
See all photos >
Awards voted by OpenTable diners
  • Diners' Choice WinnerOutdoor Dining
Diner Reviews
  • "Nice to sit on the water, but the inlet is actually pretty gross. Plus it's currently being dredged. Service was slow, not particularly inattentive. Food lacked flavor and seasoning. Seafood was fresh, but preparations fell pretty flat."
    Dined on 8/22/2014
  • "Good food at a good price with a nice atmosphere . Dress warm for dinner"
    Dined on 8/16/2014
  • "After making reservations about a week in advance, I received a call the day before letting me know the Dungeness crab would not be available(as requested). The gentleman made several other suggestions. Upon arrival I was giving an apology for no crab and a beautiful complimentary crab salad appetizer. It shows that they care about their diners and their food and beer selection is great. Smallish Great menu. One of my favorites in SF."
    Dined on 8/15/2014
  • "Had reservations for 8pm, got there early and was seated right away. We were given the choice to be seated outside on the pier of their covered patio, we chose covered patio because it gets pretty cold and windy at night. Our waiter Caleb, was very attentive and friendly. Had the cioppino that was filled with fresh crab in a perfectly spiced tomato broth with really good crusty bread. The bacon mac and cheese was AMAZING! If you came just for this, it would be worth it. The cheeseburger was average. Overall, definitely a place to go back to!!"
    Dined on 8/14/2014
  • "The food was underwhelming, the view was lacking, the service was glacial, and the overall experience was simply dumpy. And, we were seated next to a table of over-served rabble rousers and their waiter continued to bring them shots of whiskey. One guy face-planted into a window. It was karma. Some might call this local flavor. I just call it unappealing."
    Dined on 8/13/2014
  • "I could dine on their patio every week. The view of the hills and bay are amazing. Our food was some of the best we have ever had in San Francisco. The menu variety will always keep you wanting something new."
    Dined on 8/13/2014
  • "This was our 6th visit to Pier 23 Cafe and it was NOT a good experience. The food was good but the experience was poor. We sat outside and it took 30-40 minutes in between our appetizer and main dishes - throughout that long wait, not one of the five wait staff working outdoors stopped to fill our drinks or provide an update on kitchen activity. After a request for bread (to replace the burnt toast that came with his meal) was ignored by another patron, he loudly chastised the wait staff loitering by the back counter seemingly doing nothing. Then, it took another 20 at the end of the meal to have someone collect our payment. The kicker -- the outside deck was only about 50% full as our reservation was in the late afternoon!"
    Dined on 8/11/2014
  • "food was good but the service was awful... We were a party of 7. One person didn't get served until at least 10 minutes later than the rest of the table. when we asked about her meal, the waitress said, in a very snotty tone, "its on its way"... drinks and napkins had to be asked for several times. at least it was a beautiful day to sit outside."
    Dined on 8/11/2014
  • "After seeing Pier 23 on the Food Network, my husband and I knew we had to try it! The food was fantastic... the fish tacos and Crab Bisque are a must try! This was a nice change of pace from the craziness of Pier 39, and it was only a 10 minute walk away. Great food, amazing views and a fun atmosphere! Loved it! Will definitely be back again!"
    Dined on 8/10/2014
  • "My sister and I enjoy the food. The only suggestion is cioppino needs improvement. We had it at 7 Mile and the recipe is much better there. Well, we didn't say anything and nobody could tell but there were two Chefs among our group so I value their opinion. They are Professional Chefs. It was good for brunch. But I wanted to celebrate my birthday and of course have dinner. Unfortunately, the sitting was kind of tight. the tables are too close together no elbow room."
    Dined on 8/9/2014
  • "A bit noisy, food was very good. There is no place to stand while waiting for your table. I liked the live music but the band took up the entire bar space."
    Dined on 8/2/2014
  • "Had friends in from out of town and wanted to take them to a San Francisco icon and I couldn't have been happier with the service and food. They loved sitting on the pier looking out on the water as sail boats went by as we had the cioppino, clams and mussels. It was all very tasty and our waitress could not have been nicer. She was a delight and very friendly. I love taking my out of town guest there to show them SF at it's finest and you didn't disappoint."
    Dined on 8/2/2014
  • "We went to the Pier 23 Cafe after a busy day touring San Francisco based on the recommendation of staff at the Exploratorium and Trip Advisor. A great contrast to the touristy places a few piers down on the waterfront. Food tasted great, service was attentive, and had a great view seated outside. Reminded us of a locals restaurant vs one catering to tourists. Open Table's reservation was helpful in getting us seated quickly too."
    Dined on 7/31/2014
  • "As always, one of my very favorite places in The City. I was born her and There are so few places that are still San Francisco and this is truly one of them. Thank you for everything you do to keep it original and the food fresh and always... Yummmm"
    Dined on 7/30/2014
  • "I booked a table in advance after seeing good reviews, found out that there was live music that evening so I emailed to check my timings, as would be nice to catch some music. The manager emailed straight back with his recommendation to move table forward abit and offered to sort it out. The evening did not disappoint, we were seated quickly, the food was great and the atmosphere was brilliant. We could hear the music from where we were sitting and it was a fun night. The service was great. A good find!"
    Dined on 7/27/2014
  • "Staff should have mentioned when we called to find out about parking that the SF Marathon was happening and that we should plan accordingly due to event. The place was hopping at 12:30 p.m. on a sunny Sunday afternoon. We were celebrating an anniversary that was never acknowledged by the staff (why ask about special instructions?). Cocktails were great. The chowder was delicious. but should have been served hotter. The mussels and clams were delicious, very salty broth and overcooked. The shrimp and crab sandwich was superb. We would skip the Crab and Shrimp Louie for $20-mainly because there should have been more lettuce (pre-seasoned and limp). Service was slow and haphazard. Definitely need to be patient and not on a time table."
    Dined on 7/27/2014
  • "Excellent food and service! We had the fish tacos, mussels and crab sandwich...all wonderful."
    Dined on 7/25/2014
  • "Friendly staff, excellent food, great location/view."
    Dined on 7/20/2014
  • "Nice afternoon for lunch! Too bad the construction is happening next door -- but should be over soon!"
    Dined on 7/19/2014
  • "Went into the city before a game, made reservations for lunch , which was a good idea. We were sat at a table outside with a great view. The four of us had a beer, appetizers and a sandwich. All of the items were really good and it was more than we could eat . Service was good but expect to pay $25-$30 for lunch which I would expect to pay for dinner, but after all this is SF"
    Dined on 7/19/2014
  • "Food was sub par, especially considering its location. Ordered crab bisque, no essence of crab. Fish and Chip......fish way too salty. Ribs was fall off the bone......boiled and baked. Lots of better restaurant options nearby, please don't waste your time and money."
    Dined on 7/18/2014
  • "Heving not seen Denny in over 35 years, and never his wife or children, I was prepared to be a little overwhelmed. I wasn't sure that I would even recognize him. The atmosphere and your staff were very competent, and put all of us virtual strangers at ease. The environment was perfect to allow us to catch up without disturbance. The food was excellent."
    Dined on 7/18/2014
  • "We were celebrating my husband's birthday and we wanted to watch the World Cup Final. Pier 23 was perfect for both of these events. We went to the bar area first, but there were no seats available. One of the bartenders very nicely let us know of a couple who was leaving and encouraged us to go stand next to them so we could get their seats. Super helpful!!! Our drinks were tasty and not super pricey. The host and our waiter were wonderful. We never wanted for anything. The food was delicious. We will definitely go back again."
    Dined on 7/13/2014
  • "Awesome food, service, & drinks. A little pricey but well worth it :) Crab & shrimp sandwich was delicious. Would definitely recommend it, and recommend making a reservation, it's a busy spot and you want a table outside!"
    Dined on 7/12/2014
  • "Pier 23 has a great selection of small plates & drinks. Add that to sitting out on the pier in sunny weather and it makes a perfect Happy Hour location. I have never had bad service at Pier 23 and Avi was a particularly fun and efficient wait person."
    Dined on 7/11/2014
  • "The fabulous Josh Jones Jazz was playing inside with two tables within 2 feet of the band and no food service so we took a table outside. The service was terrible and disorganized. We had 4 or 5 servers and no one clearly in charge. The food was worse! We were 3 in our party. We ordered steamed shellfish as a starter and another server literally threw down 2 bowls and 2 small forks and walked away. Finally after flagging another guy someone else showed up with a big size fork, no bowl, slammed it down on the table well out of reach of the person who needed it and left. I had to flag down someone else again to ask for bread. Other servers brought duplicates of our drink orders and bread and no one had yet taken our order for entrees."
    Dined on 7/6/2014
  • "We went to pier 23 4th of July weekend and sat out side for lunch. The food was wonderful. My husband had the crab/shrimp sandwich and I had fish and chips, both of which were mouth wateringly good. We would definitely recommend it and plan on going again next time we are in town from Atlanta! I would also recommend sitting outside as the view of the bay is breathtaking (we even had a seal hang out in the water as we ate). Good food, good atmosphere, no complaints."
    Dined on 7/5/2014
  • "Overall this was a great place to reconnect with a few friends and enjoy the beautiful weather outdoors. Hostesses appear to need additional training. I had a reservation through open table, but at check in they didn't ask, in fact I felt a little ignored. I had to flag the host as a few people came in after me and we're seated before me. I was told to choose a seat anywhere, but when I pointed to a table nearest the water, I was told the table was closed. Then after I was situated, minutes later someone was seated in the "closed" table. fortunately that was the end of any challenges! The food server was fantastic and attentive. Limited menu but a Ford able and tasty options for a perfect coastal casual meal with great ambiance."
    Dined on 7/3/2014
  • "Outstanding seafood sandwich and salads! Service was attentive and we were seated promptly at 1 for lunch with a reservation.With so many choices pier 23 was recommended from a friend. Grateful for that. The noise level was hi due to construction"
    Dined on 7/2/2014
  • "Peek in and you'll be hooked! The staff and ambience are awesome and the sea food is incredible! Also, you might consider the tee shirt, very unique."
    Dined on 7/1/2014
  • "Our dinning experience was very enjoyable as my family and I celebrated my birthday. We remembered seeing the cafe on Tripple "D" and wanted to try it out. We were not disappointed. The men had the Shrimp&Crab sandwiches, while the ladies had the Fish Tacos and the Clams & Mussels with spaghetti."
    Dined on 6/30/2014
  • "The food and the service were excellent. We would highly recommend."
    Dined on 6/26/2014
  • "I make it a point to take out of town guests here and we always have a great time and meal!"
    Dined on 6/24/2014
  • "The food was great and view of the water were great. We sat outside for dinner. It was a bit windy and cold. They only had two heaters outside. They customers would really benefit from more of them. Other them being cold, we loved this restaurant."
    Dined on 6/21/2014
  • "Our lunch experience was great from service, to views to food! Great place, we will return!"
    Dined on 6/21/2014
  • "Ambience not great but the food and service was a real find. Considering location and tourist revenue, cost was very reasonable. Not upscale but definitely recommendable."
    Dined on 6/19/2014
  • "If your visiting S.F. it's worth the visit. Beer selection is good and seafood is excellent"
    Dined on 6/18/2014
  • "We were able to reserve a table for 8 on Father's Day only a few days before. There server was attentive and patient with our indecisive group. I had the crab & shrimp sandwich with crab only & I am still thinking about it! I plan to return on my next SF trip."
    Dined on 6/15/2014
  • "We've walked by this place many times and finally stopped for dinner. Wow, this was a lot of fun - the food was good, atmosphere was great and the service was outstanding. We will definitely go back."
    Dined on 6/8/2014
  • "Many thanks to the chef, the food was fabulous and drinks were perfect. We had a great view of both the bay and the band. If I could give some constructive criticism, once the band begins to play, turn off the regular overhea music and pipe in the speakeasy music. Thanks for making our time so enjoyable, we'll be back."
    Dined on 6/8/2014