Powered By OpenTable: Restaurant Reservations. Right this way.
Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
  • Oceanarium Restaurant

  • Online Reservations

Oceanarium Restaurant
Oceanarium Restaurant

Oceanarium Restaurant Details

  • Dining Style: Casual Dining
  • Website: http://www.pacificbeachhotel.com
  • Phone: (808) 921-6111
  • Hours of Operation: Breakfast: Daily: 6:00am - 10:00am; Weekend Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 4:30pm - 10:00pm
  • Payment Options: AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
  • Cuisine: Seafood, Pan-Asian
  • Executive Chef: Mariano Lalica
  • Dress Code: Casual Dress
  • Accepts Walk-Ins: Yes
  • Additional Details: Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
  • Entertainment: Entertainment:Dive Times
  • Saturday & Sunday:
    Regular Dive -11:45am, 1:30pm,
    5:00pm, 7:00pm & 9:00 pm
    Mermaid dive - 5:00pm & 9:00pm
  • Monday - Friday:
    Regular Dive - 5:00pm, 7:00pm & 9:00 pm
    Mermaid dive - 5:00 pm & 9:00pm

Getting there

  • Cross Street: Liliuokalani Avenue
  • Parking: Hotel Parking
  • Parking Details: Self Parking and Valet Service Available
A word from Oceanarium Restaurant
Where dining is an adventure.
At Pacific Beach Hotel's Ilima award-winning Oceanarium Restaurant, the flavors are as amazing as the views. Indulge in mouth-watering crab legs, tender prime rib of beef, fresh Island sashimi and sushi. Plus a nightly pasta and dessert station complemented with nightly specials – all alongside incredible views of nearly 400 fish from more than 70 different species of marine life. Nowhere else on the island will you find a dining experience quite like this.Continued
Foodspotting photos
See all photos >
Awards voted by OpenTable diners
  • Diners' Choice WinnerKid Friendly
Diner Reviews
  • "Made a reservation for 12:45 and since it Waikiki and traffic was pretty bad I was late for only 5 mins and my daughter really wanted to sit near the aquarium, but they placed us way back near the bathroom and consider a walk-in when I ask if they could seat us closer. Besides, during the whole time we were there the tables that we wanted wasn't occupied by anybody and we there for at least 3 hours."
    Dined on 8/24/2014
  • "Management doesn't take care of other peoples mishap! Kids running around knocking food/butter off my table and the manager did was apologize :( the waiter was more concerned . After the big mess that was made in my coach purse, the manager didn't offer a discount nor did he approach the customer. Didn't even offer to clean my purse! He really cared less! Waiter was awesome ! His boss sucked!"
    Dined on 8/21/2014
  • "thank you to your wonderful staff and kind service"
    Dined on 8/20/2014
  • "The ambiance was great and the service was average. But food could have been great, I expected more from seafood theme restaurant. Maybe more type of sushi/sashimi and the pasta station could use salt on the pasta water. It was very blunt. Maybe more type of seafood. The prime was Great. Overall it's average place with high price."
    Dined on 8/18/2014
  • "With all the open tables near the tank, they sit us in the middle of tables on both sides and mind you, I'm a BIG guy so it was hard to squeeze in between chairs to get to my seat. The prime rib was tough, the Kalbi was tough, the king crab legs was so soft the nutcracker was useless. Clam chowder was overpowered by thyme. Must have new cooks since my last visit."
    Dined on 8/18/2014
  • "Was very disappointed - we've been there several times last year and usually have our Xmas & New Year dinner there however this time was very bad. This time the food quality was not up to par, crab legs were on ice rather than steamed, sushi was hard, salad bar very limited, chocolate fountain had no strawberries and very limited desserts. They need to step it up and think of the local people too, seems they are gearing their services towards just the tourists. They will lose the local people who I would think they need when tourism slows......."
    Dined on 8/17/2014
  • "Service was awesome. Food was delicious, the mermaid show short and sweet but my children adored the entertainment."
    Dined on 8/16/2014
  • "Made reservations arrive on-time, my party was seated promptly. We were sat right next to the aquarium. The buffet had great variety. The crab-legs were abundant. the Prime rib was medium rare, just the way asked for it. Service was with a smile. All in all the dining experience was spendid. My mother, wife, and preteen boys really enjoyed themselves. Can't wait for the next special occasion to return."
    Dined on 8/16/2014
  • "What a great dining experience. The food was terrific ! The prime rib was tender and juicy, just the way I like it, and the crab legs were awesome. And all the desserts were great too. It was a delicious buffet, one of the best I have ever tasted !The mermaid show was so great and all the different kinds of fish were so interesting that I took videos to show all my friends and family back home. It was truly a superb dining and entertaining experience that I would highly recommend to everyone !! Can't wait to come back again!!!"
    Dined on 8/15/2014
  • "We had a great time with all-you-can-eat crab. The food was delicious and the service was very good. We walked in and we were greeted with friendly faces, where there was no wait and we were led straight to our table. Within about a minute of being seated, our server was at our table taking our drink order and inviting us to the buffet. The dirty plates were cleared almost immediately and our water glasses never reached less than half full. There was plenty of food with no tray being empty, and the desserts were delightful. The only downside was that it was a little on the crowded side. I had to dodge the other customers at times in order to make my way to the buffet. However, once seated, it did not feel too crowded."
    Dined on 8/14/2014
  • "This is actually the second time we've been here. The food is okay but is it worth $50? For this price expected more selections. Food here is comparable to Todai or the many high priced buffets you would find in California. Not as good as a Vegas buffet at twice the price. However, you are definite paying for ambience. I wanted my kids to experience the divers in the aquarium. For some reason even that seemed not as entertaining as the first time I went. Definitely a must go for first timers but would recommend something else if you're looking for variety."
    Dined on 8/14/2014
  • "the food selection was limit and definitely over priced . We did not enjoy the meal and on the top of that , service was bad . We had keep checking on our server to clean the table for us . Last but not least , I thought it was really inappropriate to directly ask us that they would like to go ahead to add 15% gratuity on our bill. Very unprofessional."
    Dined on 8/9/2014
  • "We really like the restaurant. The service was excellent . We went here seven years ago and we said we will come back here when we're back in Honolulu. We had dinner on 8/6 and our server is Guillermo, he provided excellent service. I will never forget how nice and helpful he was. On 8/8 for breakfast, we forgot her name, but she was great too. The food was exceptional! We will go back here when we're in Honolulu again. Thank you so much for the wonderful service!"
    Dined on 8/8/2014
  • "We took special friends for their 40th anniversary and they were very surprised The looks on their faces was priceless when they saw the diver display their special sign. Food and atmosphere were excellent. Thank you for the memory!"
    Dined on 8/6/2014
  • "A little pricey, but a fun place and a great view."
    Dined on 8/4/2014
  • "the dishes at the table were dirty and when we asked for new dishes, the waiter brought another set of dirty dishes and walked away. It was gross and we never used them cause it seems like you don't wash your dishes."
    Dined on 8/2/2014
  • "We arrived 15 minutes early and got turned away until our reservation time (9:00), even though there were several open tables. We had 2 extra people join us and they charged us 15% more. Will never go back."
    Dined on 8/1/2014
  • "Kid friendly, the fish tank is huge and gives the kids something to watch. Food is pretty standard for buffet; hard to justify $45 for the food, but worth it for the tank. Try to be there for the feeding or mermaid show."
    Dined on 8/1/2014
  • "Good atmosphere for a family dinner. The buffet provided a decent range of food as well."
    Dined on 7/27/2014
  • "We had been before and remembered the food being better. The aquarium is awesome - we didn't care for the 'Japanese' themed buffet the evening we went. Dinner was way too expensive but we would try the lunch when we go back. Kids would love the experience!"
    Dined on 7/27/2014
  • "Food was very delicious.. But service was slow and front staff was not that friendly and helpful.But service was slow and front staff was not that friendly and helpful. It was a very special dinner for us we had very special friends that flew in to visit and wanted to take them for a wonderful dinner and we got a back table on the side when I saw that there were alot of open tables in the front. Terrible seating and I paid alot for dinner as well as I had paid for my sister and brother and nephew to eat for my nephew's birthday and they didn't bring or sing him happy birthday and sat us very far apart when there were about 3 big tables close to them that they probably could have sat us on. Front staff looked very irritated and unfriendly"
    Dined on 7/26/2014
  • "Enjoyed the variety in the buffet and the friendliness of the cooking chefs. Noticed how well the workers kept refilling the items so there was no lack. Overall a very nice evening and looking forward to returning."
    Dined on 7/26/2014
  • "The buffet items was always being replenished. The servers were right on top it, i.e. removing empty plates from the table very promptly, kept filling our water glass but when you place your hand over the cup they'll acknowledge the gesture. A hot towel after eating would be most welcome especially after eating the crab. Oh the crab, very nice size and never letting it go empty."
    Dined on 7/25/2014
  • "We first visited the Oceanarium four years ago with our teenaged daughter. Even she was impressed-not easy to do with a 16 year-old! This time we took my sister and a friend and it was the first time for both. We all enjoyed our dinner immensely and will certainly continue to dine there with visitors and our friends. Also a lovely place for just the two of us! There are so many choices that even my vegetarian husband is satisfied."
    Dined on 7/23/2014
  • "I was super excited to dine in our in-hotel restaurant that contained an Aquarium on All-you-can-eat king crab Monday. However, that quickly changed with my first bite of the crab. It was super salty and had a bad taste to it, I tried multiple crab legs with the same results. All the other food was not great either. I have to say the best food in the restaurant was the clam chowder & dessert which is sad for a buffett. Not worth the price and will not be coming back even if our server Micah was fantastic. Definitely overpriced."
    Dined on 7/21/2014
  • "Given all the hype, as well as the expense, I was expecting a great experience. What I got was a very crowded, noisy dining room and a mediocre buffet. The prime rib was subpar, the fish was dry, the chicken gristly, the sushi inconsistent, and the dessert selection limited. The crab legs were good but for the price I would expect everything to be good. This was in contrast to a dinner I had the previous evening at another buffet just down the street, which as cheaper and much better."
    Dined on 7/21/2014
  • "We, my Family and I have always dined at the Oceanarium for special occasions. Birthdays, anniversary's, ect. Our favorites has always been the crab legs. Unfortunately they had changed the service of the crab. Snow crab is now served cold! We had always preferred the crab, including the king crab to be freshly steamed and hot. I don't now if its a mainland thing but I feel the majority of us local people, Kamaaina, prefer it to be hot. The service was Ok, and the rest of the food was pretty good. One of the workers, I will not say who, had told me the change of crab was done by a new manager."
    Dined on 7/20/2014
  • "This was far the most exciting and well worth the money. I just wish we had known you could get the plates made to put in the aquarium that said Happy Birthday."
    Dined on 7/18/2014
  • "Overall the location, the environment and setting is lovely. A large variety of food not he buffet to cater for most people. It's not 5 star, and some of the food like crab claws was exceptional, but he prawns were not so good. Overall ok."
    Dined on 7/16/2014
  • "The food was B grade. The king crab legs were bordering on gross looking. They were small and not visually appealing. The prime rib was probably the toughest I have ever had. It was more like chuck roast. The rest of the food was just mediocre. The service was slow. And the highlight, the aquarium, was filthy, tired and not very many interesting fish. Plus, you had to pay for parking at their hotel even when you ate there. There are a lot of good Resturants in Waikiki. This isn't one of them."
    Dined on 7/14/2014
  • "Came here with a group of 20 for a anniversary dinner. Very memorable time. Loved the seafood and prime ribs."
    Dined on 7/11/2014
  • "We live here and came back again, however, it wasn't as good as before. Food was about the same, nothing special; prime rib, pasta station, crab legs, would of like the crab legs to be HOT. In Vegas, their hot station allows the customer to ask for their crab legs to get it HOT. A lot of the platters were empty, or very few items on it. This was for the main course as well as the dessert area. Dinning area felt tight, too close to next table, and hard to move between tables. Also, very very very noisy! Needs renovation in this dinning area. The only good thing was our server, as he always made sure we had what we needed and our dishes were cleared away. Also, for the kamaaina rate we were told we had to wait till after 8:30pm."
    Dined on 7/5/2014
  • "The food was moderate in taste. I had expected a greater selection than what was offered. It would have been a nice courtesy for the greeter to ask if we had dined there previously. That would have given an opportunity to explain the dining process and make us feel more comfortable with the experience. Although it was busy, our table attendant took some time before greeting us and providing us with water and utensils."
    Dined on 7/3/2014
  • "This was out first time at this restaurant and we were very amazed on the food selection on this scrumptious buffet. We loved it! Na-gi-ma-sen!"
    Dined on 6/29/2014
  • "Was really hoping to love this restaurant, but... it's noisy, the service was spotty, & the food was uneven. The seafood items were tasty, but the other items were unappetizing. Overall, the buffet saws much smaller than I expected given the prices. I was especially disappointed by the dessert buffet - the desserts looked good, but were blah."
    Dined on 6/28/2014
  • "This restaurant used to be top of the line buffet, then new ownership came in and now it is not worth going back. They use to give customers a "birthday" celebration coupon to come back. We went to Friday night buffet and definitely disappointed with the cold crab legs, use to serve shrimp tempura and the selections was far and few between. We have decided that it is not worth coming to the Oceanarium. It is sad for we use to love eating there."
    Dined on 6/27/2014
  • "If you are on Waikiki, Oceanarium is a must visit!!!!!! The staff was awesome and the food is off the charts. I plan on making this an every year vacation so I will eat here at least twice a year."
    Dined on 6/26/2014
  • "Was recommended by a friend in Australia and everything was booked via open table website for a family group of 18. I was nervous that all our re quests would be met but was over the moon with how our night turned out. It was my daughter's 6th birthday and she and the other 7 kids that were in our group had the most magical time - thank you so much!!"
    Dined on 6/25/2014
  • "Was very over priced and the food was not good. I was very excited about this place and booked it for the most expensive night, the king crab leg dinner. The crab was tough stringy and tasted like i had just swallowed salt water. It is by far the worst crab i have ever tasted. About for of the legs i picked up didn't even have any meat in them, they were hallow. The rest of the food on the buffet was not worth the $55 dollars a person I paid. The one thing on the buffet I thought was edible was the snow crab, but it was on ice and I prefer my crab cooked. The waiter barely came around and we had to ask the guy who cleaned our plates to refill our drinks. The fish tank was neat but not enough to save this experience."
    Dined on 6/23/2014
  • "Over all it was good. I like the Sunday lunch. We ordered two martinis along with other drinks. The first one was good and the second Martini that was brought to us was in a much smaller glass but we were charged the same price. Next time we wont let that slide!"
    Dined on 6/22/2014