Powered By OpenTable: Restaurant Reservations. Right this way.
Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
  • Daily Review Cafe

  • Online Reservations

Daily Review Cafe
Daily Review Cafe

Daily Review Cafe Details

  • Dining Style: Casual Elegant
  • Website: http://dailyreviewcafe.com/
  • Email: manager@dailyreviewcafe.com
  • Phone: (713) 520-9217
  • Hours of Operation: Lunch: Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
    Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
    Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
  • Payment Options: AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
  • Cuisine: American, Contemporary American
  • Dress Code: Casual Dress
  • Accepts Walk-Ins: Yes
  • Additional Details: Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine
  • Catering: Please contact us to customize your event.
  • Private Party Facilities: Private dining for approximately 40. Perfect for business or social event. The garden area is also available for private events. Perfect for corporate events, showers, rehearsal dinners and business events.
  • Private Party Contact: John Sims (713) 520-9217
  • Entertainment: Various Houston artists playing events and private parties.
  • Special Events & Promotions: Mood Indigo returns for a pre holiday show 11/22/13 and we are very excited to have Susan and Joe perform again!

Getting there

  • Cross Street: Dunlavy
  • Parking: Valet
  • Parking Details: Valet and street parking is available.
A word from Daily Review Cafe
Romantic with great service, wine and food. An icon in Houston dining scene, (Zagat rated) award wining outdoor seating. Very romantic with something for everyone!
Foodspotting photos
See all photos >
Diner Reviews
  • "not sure why they took the reservation, or why they didn't contact me to tell me they where closed. I won't go back again..."
    Dined on 3/5/2014
  • "We arrived at the restaurant to find it dark and closed, with a sign on the door stating that they were closed due to water problems. It would have been nice to have been notified of this, having made reservations."
    Dined on 3/7/2014
  • "Even after reading all of the bad reviews, we decided to give Daily Review Cafe another try after a mediocre experience there two years ago. We went for brunch and sat on the patio. It took over 10 minutes to get water and another 20 get our drinks that we ordered. The food took too long and was just okay. We will not being going back here again, it's not worth the wait or poor service for just fair tasting food. Also, the patio was a mess with dead plants, etc. Needs a facelift."
    Dined on 1/26/2014
  • "I confirmed a reservation thru OpenTable and the place was closed due to water damage when we showed up! Had to scramble to find a restaurant with availability that would serve us in time for play at Stages. You guys dropped the ball!"
    Dined on 3/1/2014
  • "Restaurant was closed due to "water problems" when we arrived. They really should have called the customers who had reservations and let them know not to come that night. Normally, the service is really good."
    Dined on 3/1/2014
  • "It had been a while since we dined at The Daily Review. We knew something was different when there was room to park and no valet parking on a Friday night. During the 40 minutes that we waited for our salads to come out, the hostess performed a neck and shoulder massage on a customer seated at a table near us (complete with some sort of massage oils). It was weird. We ordered two salads, but only one came out. After we got that corrected, our meal came out and was very good. In the past, we had found The Daily Review to be one of our favorite restaurants with excellent service and food. We are not sure what happened, but the experience this time was not even close to what we had come to expect."
    Dined on 2/21/2014
  • "It's been awhile since I've been to the Daily Review. I'd seen the negative reviews but thought people were being too critical expecting something different that what I remembered it as - a great neighborhood restaurant with good, creative comfort food. I looked at the menu online and it looked as good as I remembred. I must say, I was extremely disappointed. I ordered the fried chicken which used to be one of their specialties. It was tasteless, lukewarm and overall the worst meal I've had in Houston - ever. I live nearby and won't go back until I am convinced that they've somehow refound their former majic."
    Dined on 2/20/2014
  • "First let me say I love this restaurant and will always go back. This is the first time I ever tried the mussels, which I had as my meal. The mussels did not taste fresh, and I personally was not taken with the marinara type sauce. The service was slow, but they did tell us up front they were short staffed. They also ran out do their nice napkins, but we're kind to bring me lots of paper napkins. My guest had the salmon salad and he said it was good."
    Dined on 2/18/2014
  • "Set up a reservation for lunch through OpenTable and when we showed up we were informed that they decided to close lunch service early and did not honor our reservation. I had heard this restaurant had slipped but I was willing to give it another try. Not again."
    Dined on 2/18/2014
  • "This once quaint and charming spot is dying a slow death. We made a reservation for Saturday after Valentines Day (Feb 15), a popular night for dining out in Houston. The writing was on the wall when we walked in and saw only a couple of "candleless" tables occupied, and one lone waiter struggling to keep up, acting pretty detached and exasperated while going through the motions. We should have turned around and left, but stuck it out, only to find our suspicions confirmed - this place is on it's last leg. Horrific service, mediocre food, and still fairly expensive. I hope management can save it soon...will be sorry when it's gone :("
    Dined on 2/15/2014
  • "I had a very nice dinner with two friends at Daily Review. The food was simple and delicious. The service was excellent, although I thought our server could have used a bit of help. It seemed like he was the waiter, bartender, and bus boy for every table. He did a great job - especially considering he had no help. I loved the evening, overall. This restaurant is quaint and quiet - a wonderful exception to the rule of rowdy Houston restaurants. It's a place I'd bring good friends for good food, wine and conversation, and also to visit alone with a good book and a few hours to graze over delicious food."
    Dined on 2/15/2014
  • "I have always had fond memories of great food and service here. I haven't been in a couple of years. Boy, has it changed! After being seated at 6:20pm, no waitstaff came to our table (even after asking the hostess and a waiter 3 times to come and help) until 7:05! All we had were 3 glasses of water on our table for 4 people. During this time, 2 other tables left before even ordering. After we finally ordered, we find out that they were out of the DRC special, chicken pot pie. This was a Friday night. Shouldn't the restaurant make sure they have their special available at the onset of the weekend? They ran out of Prosecco on the night of Valentine's Day! At 7:30, after not getting any drinks nor food. I will never return again. Very sad!"
    Dined on 2/14/2014
  • "We went for valentines day and after 15 minutes walked out. Host did not greet us for five min. Then told us to seat ourself. After 15 min. Sitting at the table with no waiter, we walked out. Will never go back."
    Dined on 2/14/2014
  • "After waiting 45 minutes and not receiving our food we had to leave to attend a play nearby. During the 45 minute wait we observed only 2 salads and 2 entrees were served to other diners (12 total). Restaurant is in need of management as many waiters were standing around waiting on food to be prepared. I hope they resolve the problem as it is a good neighborhood location."
    Dined on 2/13/2014
  • "This was our first and only attempt to dine here. We were seated fairly quickly although the hostess seamed a little confused about our reservation. We waited for 30 minutes after being seated, to receive a waitress and menus. We waited 20 more minutes for the waitress to return and take our drink order. Meanwhile, we could over hear the waiters and waitresses inform other tables that they had run out of many of their main courses. Needless to say, we could anticipate how our night would have gone if we would have finished our dining experience at "The Daily Review". We informed the waitress that we would leaving 10 minutes after we placed our drink order since we were very aware that she had not yet placed the order."
    Dined on 2/14/2014
  • "This is the first time I have ever left a restaurant without eating. We sat for almost 30 minutes without ever being waited on. We weren't the only table either. I even walked to the kitchen area and asked if we could get a waiter and that didn't work either. This is sad because I have had other good experiences at this restaurant in the past and was looking forward to our visit."
    Dined on 2/14/2014
  • "Waiter said they were out of 3 kinds of wine, champagne (on Valentines day!). Ordered appetizer and meals. 30 min later my meal and the appetizer show up together. We assume waiter goes to get my wife's plate. Then he returns 10 min later and says they were out of what she ordered!!two tables of people got up and left while we waited for our food because the waiter didn't bring them water for over 15 min. Also we overheard them saying they had run out of other entrees. It was 6:30 pm. Terrible."
    Dined on 2/14/2014
  • "They were out of everything, no fish, crab, or lobster left. Didn't have the wine we asked for and we eventually left without eating."
    Dined on 2/13/2014
  • "It appears that the bartender was a no show, so the service was a bit disorganized, not up to their usual level. Still friendly of course, but confused. I'm sure that this will be easily corrected. The food was still excellent and will come back again."
    Dined on 2/7/2014
  • "Very sad that they had run out of their famous Fried Chicken....but had a delish Chicken Pot Pie...I loved the addition of Fennel! The staff were very avant-garde....nice...but just didn't seem all there."
    Dined on 2/7/2014
  • "Love this place but going through a transition of ownership/ management and service is lacking. Food remains very good, but service negatively impacts the dining experience."
    Dined on 2/6/2014
  • "I have always loved this restaurant, I have visited 5-8 times over the past 4 years. This visit will be my last. There was no valet, parking is terrible and they have always had a valet service to avoid problems. Another tables food was delivered to our table, then delivered to the right table. They were seated 10 minutes after we ordered our food. When our food arrived, my out of town guests plate had a hair attached to the food. We sent it back, within 5 minutes the food returned. We were still charged (typically, I thought that plate would have been comped). I paid, without issue, but will never return. They didn't have cokes or 1/2 & 1/2, the server had to go buy it at the store. Terrible experience!!"
    Dined on 2/7/2014
  • "I did not take my own advice. The restaurant's quaint, inconspicuous sign had been calling my name from Dunlavy every time I drove by, but I had never tried it. Finally one day I decided to stop there with my wife for dinner. I did not check any type of review beforehand and I broke a major dining rule by staying to eat even though my wife and I were the only two patrons in the restaurant. The server was friendly but had abrasive mannerisms that shouldn't be present in an expensive restaurant. Both fish dishes had lovely flavor but were very dry. The creme brule was a disappointment as it clearly just came from the refrigerator. I did not leave feeling like it was time or money well-spent. By the time we left, there was one other couple."
    Dined on 2/4/2014
  • "Arrived on time and shown to our table but no menus. After 15 minutes, I picked up four menus from the hostess stand. Five minutes later one of the wait staff came and replaced those with the exact same menu. I asked for the brunch menu, which no longer exist. In short the service was almost non-existence. During our time there were only six tables occupied and five wait staff. After almost begging, we received our Bloody Marys--tomato juice and vodka, no other spices. my food--Southwestern Eggs Benedict--was okay, but cold. I even had trouble getting the bill. They had trouble with the computer and only one person could run the credit card reader. I understand they are under new management. Wait until the new people get control."
    Dined on 2/2/2014
  • "I normally like to write glowing review in hopes that great restaurant stay in business. Not today. For a place that charges $20 per plate for lunch to use paper napkins is ridiculous. But its absurd that they would bring paper towels off a roll when asked for more napkins. Service & food were very poor. Lunch took 40 min to get to our table. One person got the wrong meal, then was asked to eat it anyways since it would take time to cook the right dish. When asked about how the meals were, one diner said the dish was over cooked to the point of being inedible. The server didn't acknowlege the comment and cleared the barely touched dish. She did return with the bill, which included the full amount for the uneaten meal. Seriously?"
    Dined on 2/5/2014
  • "I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. The service was deplorable. After sitting for 20 minutes we requested another waitress who was only slightly better. We ordered a bottle of wine and requested some bread. They were out of the bottle we ordered and said they did not serve bread. Upon looking at the other dinners I realized they all had bread! They brought the wrong salads, one entree was missing the menu described mushrooms and the shrimp was raw on another order. During the course of the dinner several couples got up and left the restaurant because no one had been to even give them water. We should have done the same. The manager did not really care about the poor food and service but did comp the wine."
    Dined on 2/1/2014
  • "This used to be a great restaurant but no more. Everything was terrible from the moment we walked in. We ended up paying for our drinks and going elsewhere."
    Dined on 2/1/2014
  • "I've been here before, so I expected great service and great food. After waiting 30 minutes just to get water, we left. They were having a VERY OFF NIGHT. Food was rated poor because the survey above requires a response, but we never got any. None. Not even our drinks."
    Dined on 2/1/2014
  • "We were turned away, they said they were closed even when I had a reservation."
    Dined on 1/30/2014
  • "Got to the restaurant in time for our reservation and they were closed and not answering their phone! No notice posted on the door! Chose another restaurant."
    Dined on 1/28/2014
  • "I've eaten at Daily Review many times, and the food has always been very good. I made a reservation for 11 through Open Table. When the first couple and their baby arrived, DRC "lost" the reservation. They said they would try to pull something together (there were few people there), but they didn't really accommodate children - "we don't have crayons or anything." I know the restaurant isn't the most child friendly place around, but I also know our kids know how to act in a nice restaurant. We ended up aborting and going to Tilas (which, coincidentally, also doesn't offer crayons). The baby slept through the entire dinner, and the older children were well-behaved. I'm disappointed in the attitude at DRC towards families."
    Dined on 1/24/2014
  • "I had been the Daily Review before, but am guessing it is about to close. Saturday night at 8 and almost empty. The hostess told us their open table system had not functioned in days. The waitress was brand new and while polite and friendly, knew little. Service was slow despite 3 tables filled in entire restaurant. Salad arrive after main course because "there is only 1 chef" (who only had to prepare food for 3 tables) because the other chef quit. The steak was overdone, not prepared to order (it was well done when ordered medium). We ate, left, paid the valet for parking our car directly in front of the restaurant and left and will not go back again."
    Dined on 1/25/2014
  • "Dinner was an absolute nightmare. The service was horrible, every cocktail we ordered they were out of! What restaurant runs out of Scotch! We will never go back."
    Dined on 1/18/2014
  • "Our waitress was terrible! We were not offered a brunch menu, which is what we went to eat. We received water, but no one ever took our drink order. The tortilla encrusted shrimp appetizer was 4 bland previously frozen shrimp...yuck! We didnt get silverware until we were halfway through the appetizer, and when the waitress brought it she dropped it down on the far side of the table with an attitude. My boyfriend had to get up in order to reach it for us. The wait between the appetizer and our regular food was almost an hour. The potatoe salad was terrible, because the potatoes were not boiled long enough. The french dip had wonderful bread, but the meat was an old steak chopped up not shaved roast beef. Seafood salad had no crab."
    Dined on 1/18/2014
  • "Our dinner last Saturday evening was terrible. The service was nonexistent. We had to set our own table. Food came out late and poorly prepared. Tuna and steaks were over cooked. We used to like this restaurant very much. No more."
    Dined on 1/11/2014
  • "We chose 4 different wines and none were available. Waitress brought a choice they had and it was terrible. 2different waitresses told us a salad on the menu was not something offered there. No apologies throughout . She said they has a crowd in afternoon so I guess they drank all the wine and drained all the energy. We finally left and went elsewhere to eat"
    Dined on 1/11/2014
  • "It has been several years since I was at DRC but I would not go back. The place on a Saturday night had 6 tables but it took an hour to get our heat lamped food to the table. One order was incorrect and had to be sent back, another was just not very tasty. They ran out of a wine they had by the glass and bottle - just a cheap SV but with only 10 or so wines on the menu it was hard to believe they couldn't carry enough. It is time for the Daily to shut it's doors and let someone else take over the wonderful outdoor spaced restaurant."
    Dined on 1/11/2014
  • "The evening made for a great story. In summary, the bar was out of more things than what they had. We were handed a martini menu, but after selecting one, told they had no vodka. Or Jameson. Or fruit for sangria. It took almost 1.5 hours from the time we arrived to the time we received our food. And forget about ordering anything. If you didn't speak in the nanosecond when the waitress first arrived, she quickly disappeared again. And if you wanted to order the same wine, you were expected to remember what it was (seems that should be on the ticket). The only part of the evening where they moved quick was to bring the check. Should have known it would be a bad night when we arrived at 7:00 and were four of ten in the restaurant."
    Dined on 1/11/2014
  • "I have dined at Daily Review many times over the years and always found the food and service quite good. Not this time. Even though there was only 1 other table occupied at the time, the service was inattentive and aloof. Very disappointing."
    Dined on 1/10/2014
  • "Enjoyed Daily Review prior to new management. Ate there once since new management several months ago and still enjoyed it. Returned recently and was leary given many negative reviews. However, my friends and Imhad a delightful evening. The food was very good ( fresh grilled salmon, salad and veggies) and the service pleasant and attentive. We were one of only 3 or 4 tables. Did not hear or see anymdissatisfied customers. I hope this neighborhood jewel is not being impacted upon by other reviews. Will definitely return as well as refer others. Thanks so much!"
    Dined on 1/8/2014