Powered By OpenTable: Restaurant Reservations. Right this way.
Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
  • Babylon

  • Online Reservations

Babylon
Babylon

Babylon Details

  • Dining Style: Casual Elegant
  • Website: http://www.babylonraleigh.com
  • Email: hachby@gmail.com
  • Phone: (919) 838-8595
  • Hours of Operation:
    Dinner
    Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

    Sunday: Brunch 12:00pm - 3:00pm
    Dinner 5:00pm-10:00pm
  • Payment Options: AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
  • Cuisine: Moroccan, Mediterranean, International
  • Executive Chef: Samad Hachby
  • Dress Code: Business Casual
  • Accepts Walk-Ins: Yes
  • Additional Details: Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar
  • Catering: We offer On-premise catering to wedding facilities, conference centers, clubs and other venues.
  • Entertainment: Current Events:

    For more information visit:
    www.babylonraleigh.com
  • Special Events & Promotions: Open to corporate events, weddings and private VIP functions

Getting there

  • Cross Street: Lane Street
  • Parking: Private Lot
  • Parking Details: Free 74 slots parking spaces
A word from Babylon
Inspired by the opulence of the ancient Mesopotamian city of Babylon and the legendary wonderment of the Hanging Gardens comes a conceptual restaurant, lounge, and event space unique in its kind to downtown Raleigh's dining and entertainment landscape.
Hidden in plain sight on the cusp of downtown's Glenwood South District and the Capitol District, surrounded by a wall of brick and cedar, sets a seductive outdoor dining terrace exuding the sophistication of a southern European courtyard and the ornate tones of the palaces of Marrakesh and Fez.
An embellished oasis welcoming all to an unparalleled experience, Babylon inhabits a more than century old structure that has been painstakingly restored, reflecting respect for the building's original façade while seamlessly incorporating regal elements, all imported from Morocco.
Continued
Foodspotting photos
See all photos >
Awards voted by OpenTable diners
  • Diners' Choice WinnerOutdoor Dining
Diner Reviews
  • "The service was amazing, the food was out of this world, love this hidden jem!!"
    Dined on 4/20/2014
  • "Lovely place, OK food and super friendly servicers good wine list. Our server saved the night by asking bikers in parking lot (who were not customers) with conflicting loud music to lower thier music. Sunday nights are otherwise pretty low key."
    Dined on 4/13/2014
  • "Food was fantastic. Best Lamb we've ever had. Wine prices are a little high"
    Dined on 4/12/2014
  • "Food, atmosphere and service was good. However, for what you get everything was very overpriced, from dinners to deserts and coffee. I certainly would not list this as one of my top 5 restaurants in Raleigh."
    Dined on 4/5/2014
  • "Overall we were happy with our experience at Babylon for brunch. The hostess seemed rather unfriendly which is unfortunate as a first impression, but the service beyond that was great. Endless mimosas = awesome. My friend and I stayed 3 hours and never felt rushed to leave. The food was good, although the complimentary bread was stale. Also, the restaurant was kept a little too cool for comfort. We will definitely return on a warmer day to enjoy the patio and try some of their dinner entrees."
    Dined on 3/30/2014
  • "This is the first time I have eaten at this place. A friend recommended it for brunch. The food was just okay, nothing to write home about and I wouldn't consider it "fit for foodies". I tried their supposedly popular dish "shekshouka" and it was just okay. The eggs were overdone. The service was good only because of the server we got. He was very energetic, honest, and stayed on top of things."
    Dined on 3/23/2014
  • "My wife and I had a great first visit to Babylon. We thought it was a little chilly for outdoor dining but realized later that they had heaters. Inside we sat near the bar, which was fine, except we were directly under a speaker playing techno music. A softer sound or Moroccan music would have been better for the dinner hour. Regardless, the food was great and the service helpful and non-rushed. We'll definitely return, with friends next time."
    Dined on 3/15/2014
  • "We have been to Babylon several times when visiting Raleigh and have really enjoyed it. We like being able to order several appetizer type dishes to share. The crispy calamari is our favorite so far but everything we've tried has been terrific. Go easy on the sauces at first because some of them are really fiery but do be adventurous. You really can't go wrong."
    Dined on 3/5/2014
  • "A great find. If you have had Morroccan food, the flavors will seem just right. If you haven't, it's a great place to be introduced to this wonderful cuisine. Tagines are Morroccan stews. One of us had lamb, the other had chicken, and they were perfect for a cold, rainy night. We also had the b'stila appetizer, which gives in egg roll form a nice taste of what in Morrocco would be a very large special occasion dish. The service was friendly and the waiter was very helpful in negotiating the large wine list. Everyone on staff we talked to seemed very proud of the restaurant and its decor. Be sure to see the ornate ceiling in the "palace room." We'll look forward to returning there next time we're in Raleigh."
    Dined on 3/6/2014
  • "Professional staff, beautiful venue, delicious food. It took longer than expected for the main entree to come out but it was worth the wait."
    Dined on 2/28/2014
  • "The menu has a mix of Moroccan and non-Moroccan dishes. We tried several (Lamb Tangine & Vegetable Couscous) Moroccan ones and were quite pleased. Couscous dish could have been a little more moist. I only wish there were more Moroccan choices on the menu. The décor was especially charming, especially the ceilings. Really cool-looking outdoor area. The only thing I really didn't like about the restaurant was the music. Loud with lots of thumpy-thump bass and no discernible melody. Didn't seem to go with the theme of the restaurant."
    Dined on 2/15/2014
  • "Outstanding food, and our waitress was wonderful! Will be back."
    Dined on 2/27/2014
  • "I was initially attracted to the bottomless mimosas at Sunday brunch. I was so pleasantly surprised about the ambiance, the service and the overall atmosphere. This is definitely a favorite spot for my girlfriends and I, and we will be back as often as possible!"
    Dined on 2/16/2014
  • "Flavors were fabulous. Wait staff excellent ane very well trained. Ambiance was superb. We will come back and bring friends. Cocktails were great too."
    Dined on 2/15/2014
  • "I gave the restaurant an overall "very good" score. The food and ambiance were great! The only issues I had were 1). After making a reservation we had to wait at the bar for about 35 mins to be seated 2) we had to alter what we planned to eat and drink because the restaurant was out of a lot menu and bar items. They were even out of napkins for entire restaurant. But overall I liked Babylon and I'm gonna give them a second chance. May even have my bday party there."
    Dined on 2/15/2014
  • "Parking was excellent and the building is beautiful but that is where it ends. We went for restaurant week and my first two drink choices were "sold out" while my date exhausted 3 choices only to have the waiter suggest what they had. food was a mixed bag of delicious to just so-so. Thankfully the conversation was good. Wait staff was friendly but not as attentive as you would expect since they were very slow."
    Dined on 1/26/2014
  • "I have been here before and ate outside and had a Great experience. This time was February and it was too cold for outside so we sat inside. The building is great, very cool refurbished factory. It was a bit noisy, but not too bad. The food was ok, with splashes of really good. The appraisers were wonderful and nicely done. The polenta was super. The rest of meal was nothing special. It was good, not great, and not worth the up charge for a holiday. I’ll go again when the weather is nice and you can sit outside."
    Dined on 2/14/2014
  • "My husband and I went to Babylon for Valentine's day. I was not aware that they had a pri fixe menu that night so we were disappointed that the entire menu was not at our disposal. The menu as it was did have a good representation of the type of food they served but they ran out of beef tagine, which was what my husband really wanted. The food was very tasty and had good spices but they dessert was very small and considering it was for us to share left us a little disappointed not to mention the menu didn't have a price so we were quite surprised when the bill arrived. It was a overpriced considering we had a small dessert and he couldn't get what he really wanted for dinner."
    Dined on 2/14/2014
  • "Main course was bland and tasteless . chef must not have personally sampled the dish. Will not come back although was offered a gift certificate for a future meal. Too many GOOD restaurants around to risk another expensive dud of a meal."
    Dined on 2/14/2014
  • "We arrived a bit early for our reservation and were seated immediately. The entire staff was friendly without being intrusive, and drinks and food all came in a timely fashion. For Valentine's Day, Babylon offered a fixed menu with three options for starters and three options for main course. The dessert was chef's choice and shared, as is appropriate for valentine's day. For starters, we both had Moroccan Salads, which were phenomenal with fresh vegetables and just the right amount of seasonings and dressing. For our main courses, we had the chicken and atlantic cod dishes. Both were cooked to perfection and we had enough time between courses that we didn't feel rushed. Service and food were impeccable and we will definitely return!"
    Dined on 2/14/2014
  • "My guest and I had a wonderful time out on 02/14/14,Valentines Night Out."
    Dined on 2/14/2014
  • "The atmosphere is perfect and especially when the weather is nice the outdoor area would be a a great place to hang out. The main issue is that the food was bland and over priced. For example I ordered the ChIcken Dajaj Tagine, which was essentially a a roasted chicken breast on potatoes--- it was fresh tasting, but it badly needed seasoning and was $17 before tax."
    Dined on 2/6/2014
  • "Food and prices were good, but it wasn't anything special. The spicy martini was great though! Food didn't agree at all with my stomach afterwards either."
    Dined on 2/7/2014
  • "went for restaurant week. special menu choices were very good. Food was very good. However, the restaurant was much too noisy. I'll bring my ear plugs next time."
    Dined on 1/25/2014
  • "This was a terrible dinner prepared by somebody who knows nothing about Moroccan/Berber food. If you have ever had really a great couscous dinner you would know the difference. Even if you served my meal to somebody who didn't know good Moroccan food it was still a dry bland tasteless dinner. Couscous was undercooked, the lamb was overcooked, served with no broth, no vegetables other than some chickpeas and overcooked onions and the whole thing was totally tasteless. If you don't know any better, you may think this very nice looking place is a good restaurant but do your self a favor and spend your money elsewhere."
    Dined on 1/23/2014
  • "We went to Babylon on a Saturday night during restaurant week. The special menu offered a good selection, as did the regular menu. Service was impeccable, and the food came at a good pace, allowing us to enjoy each part of the meal. Portions were generous, and flavors were good."
    Dined on 1/25/2014
  • "Nothing could have been improved upon - the presentation and preparation of food both were superb, and the service was excellent. Worth the four hour drive from Asheville to get there. Short of a trip to Morocco, the most authentic cuisine that you'll find anywhere. Highly recommended! The only suggestion that I'd have is to make the mussels appetizer and the salmon entrée part of the regular menu. Both are among my favorites foods, and I have never had them as well prepared as they were on Saturday evening as a part of your restaurant week menu."
    Dined on 1/25/2014
  • "This was our 2nd time at Babylon! The food was awesome, as it was the last time! We thoroughly enjoyed the Restaurant week menu. I had the Herb Goat cheese and Proscuitto for a starter and she had the kale and beets salad, then I had the beef brisket and she had the salmon and I had the Brownie and she had the crème brulee! Everything was delicious! The service was impeccable as well! Cannot wait for an excuse to go back to Babylon again soon!"
    Dined on 1/25/2014
  • "Our group was not seated until 30 minutes past the time of our reservation(what is the point of making a reservation??) and the service was slow, despite the restaurant not being that full by the time we sat down. This is the second time within a month that we've expeienced the slow service here. And, one or our orders was wrong and that one person waited an additional 20 minutes for her food to come and essentially had to eat by herself because everyone else was finished. Wait staff is knowledgable and friendly...perhaps this is a problem in the kitchen? Either way it is a detriment to the experience and we will likely not return. It's a shame because the ambience is cool and the food is good."
    Dined on 1/24/2014
  • "Went there on a cold Friday night during Restaurant Week (which is why we chose to come here) with my daughter after seeing the Porsche exhibit at the NC Art Museum (awesome collection of cars). The outside area looks like a fun place for drinks and appetizers and nicely secluded from main road so don't hear traffic. Food was good, but not spectacular. Service was very fair ... either waitress was stressed, harried or ... And creme brulee was served cold (and significantly late, which probably explained the cold but by then we were ready to leave) and was described as "fruity" but only had 3 pieces of small berries on the top.)"
    Dined on 1/24/2014
  • "The food was wonderful. It was restaurant week and one of us ordered off that menu: prosciutto and goat cheese starter, mediterranean brisket and creme brulet. All to die for. Another had the lamb on couscous and I had the chicken tangines off the main menu. All were excellent, flavorful and very well done. The service was excellent but just a warning... we had 5:45 reservations and had to eat our dessert quickly in order to leave at 7:30 for the theater. Not that the service wasn't good or that you felt like it took forever to get your food... courses well spaced and you felt like you wanted to linger. Just plan your time wisely. It was empty when we got there but filled up midway during our stay. not noisy at all.. Highly recommended."
    Dined on 1/24/2014
  • "I went during restaurant week and their menu was very good. Excellent wine list but very limited on "by the glass" options and my server knew little about the wines although she did say that the list had just been updated and she had not had the opportunity to taste the new wines. Luckily, she offered to let me taste a wine prior to purchasing. Both the Restaurant Week menu and the regular menu had great Middle Eastern choices on them. I can't wait to go back to try more items!"
    Dined on 1/22/2014
  • "Calamari was excellent, entrees were good and the white bean ragout was good. Dessert was not worth the $$"
    Dined on 1/18/2014
  • "This place used to be great for Sunday Brunch. I don't know what has changed, but our party of 10 came in and was seated, and after someone from our group went looking for our server to order our Bottomless Memosas that they are so proud to advertise, we were told they were out of Champagne. Nice try...hope it works for ya."
    Dined on 1/12/2014
  • "Dinner at Babylon was wonderful. We sampled a couple of the appetizers, which were fantastic, and then I had the chicken dajaj Tagine which was very yummy and was plenty of food! Service was great, our waitress was very attentive and kept our water glasses topped off and our bread plate full. I'm already looking forward to my next chance to eat there, hopefully for their brunch which I've heard fabulous things about! They have beautiful art on the walls which was a great bonus!"
    Dined on 1/12/2014
  • "Outside of it being a little frigid on the inside, I enjoyed every minute of it. Food, ambiance, drinks and service were all superior and in a class all by itself. I'm planning on having my birthday party at this spot because it seems to capture the essence of a great vibe. Will be back soon for sure. Thanks"
    Dined on 1/9/2014
  • "We drove over from Wilson for an early dinner. Good parking easy to find. Were seated at a romantic corner table But The resturant was freezing cold. The building is an old mill so no insulation on the 2 foot thick brick walls. If you go during the winter sit near the center of the room away from cold walls!! For the food Hummus was superb! The soup excellent! Lamb skewer a bit fatty and the chicken skewer was fabulous. Will go back!"
    Dined on 1/3/2014
  • "The architecture and lighting are very nice. It was too cold to dine outside; however the patio seating looked very nice for warm weather. The inside temperature was a bit cold; however I've dined before when it was warmer inside. The food was really good and served in a timely manner. I recommend Babylon for server types of occasions. It is great for a date night as well as a group night."
    Dined on 1/3/2014
  • "Although the food was delicious, waiting for it for 40 minutes was not fun. It was New Year's Eve I get that but for $50 a person and very limited portions, it would have been nice to have some bread on the table. The atmosphere was fun. Great decor. Long red curtains, opulent ceilings and chandeliers. Although everyone in our group left hungry and we went to a diner afterwards, we are still planning to go back to give it another try based on food. quality"
    Dined on 12/31/2013
  • "We had heard good things about this place and looked forward to the Moroccan cuisine. The place is rather hard to get to despite being easy to see from the road. It is on a side road just off Capital Blvd where it splits into Dawson and McDowell streets. The 3 NYE course menu was good but portions were very meager. Considering what we paid for the meal, I felt that it was not worth it. The service was slow. The waiter said he was working there to cover their expected new years eve business but did not normally work there and knew nothing about the menu or the restaurant or about providing cutlery apparently as we had to ask between courses. The outdoor seating area is lovely with a pool and cushioned chairs; enclosed for winter."
    Dined on 12/31/2013