Powered By OpenTable: Restaurant Reservations. Right this way.
Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
  • 717 South

  • Online Reservations

717 South
717 South

717 South Details

  • Dining Style: Casual Elegant
  • Website: http://www.717south.com
  • Phone: (813) 250-1661
  • Hours of Operation: Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm Sunday 5:00 PM till 10:00 PM
  • Payment Options: AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
  • Cuisine: Contemporary American, Pan-Asian
  • Executive Chef: Robert Masson
  • Dress Code: Business Casual
  • Accepts Walk-Ins: Yes
  • Additional Details: Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar
  • Catering: yes, all types
  • Private Party Facilities: semi-private, 70 people
  • Private Party Contact: Michael Stewart (813) 300-5070
  • Entertainment: Special Events Weekely

Getting there

  • Cross Street: Swann
  • Parking: Private Lot
  • Parking Details: Free, plenty of parking adjoining restaurant
A word from 717 South
717 South serves authentic Italian dishes from the "Kitchens of Italy" to exotic seafood from the Pacific Rim”, including their famous Miso and Sake cured Catch of the day..Extensive wine list ( over 200 wines by the bottle) , martini's and specialty drinks from all parts of the world. Michael Stewart, a local native, is the owner and Korean-born chef Robert Masson displays a sure mastery of all ports and parts of the world. Set within 1920's art deco paintings, wood trim, high ceilings, and an open kitchen, welcomes each patron. Seven 17 South was recently voted TOP 20 Best New Restaurant in Florida, Best Place for Dinner, Best Wines by the Glass, TOP 400 Places to dine in Florida, Best Happy Hour and many others.Continued
Foodspotting photos
See all photos >
Awards voted by OpenTable diners
  • Diners' Choice WinnerContemporary American
  • Diners' Choice WinnerHot Spot
Diner Reviews
  • "It was our 7th anniversary so had a 7 theme hence picking 717. When the hostess sat us she said happy anniversary which told me they actually read the notes from the reservation. Anthony, the waiter, took great care of us with just enough attention and not overbearing. Then he topped the night off with a special 7th anniversary dessert plate that made the night memorable. Thanks Anthony!"
    Dined on 7/7/2014
  • "My most favorite South Tampa dining place....meets my every expectations....."
    Dined on 7/5/2014
  • "This is my third time eating at 717 South. The first two times was for work function and we all enjoyed fun vibe and fantastic food. PuPu platter is tops! This most recent time was to celebrate my birthday. What made it even more special was the Amazon special purchase. I consider 717 South a special occasion place so it was a perfect place to celebrate my birthday with my family. My husband and I shared the kale salad which was crisp and tart and tangy. The mushroom risotto, a speciality, was a nice complement to the salad; the flavors seemed to melt in your mouth and were a smooth blend of rich creamy flavors."
    Dined on 7/2/2014
  • "Advertised cocktails--"Out of ingredients". Desert items on menu--"Oops, not available""
    Dined on 6/29/2014
  • "717 is a excellent choice for dining in the SoHo area. Contemporary and delicious menu options for all tastes. Nice wine list, awesome service. A favorite for upscale dining at reasonable cost."
    Dined on 6/30/2014
  • "LOVE this place. Everytime I go its never a disappointment. Excellent food, service and ambiance. Will always recommend to others."
    Dined on 6/28/2014
  • "We had a reservation for 630 and we're seated for birthday. We waited half hour for drink and he had one table. He served white wine that was hot. The stoner said it was not able to get a pour from a cold bottle. Forgot lemon for water asked twice. Gave us glass wine requested before dinner AFTER dinner served and eaten. In fact he brought with check to drive bill and tip up. Really horrible for the over 225 we spent. Do not go."
    Dined on 6/28/2014
  • "From the outset there were signs that the dining experience was not going to be good. The overall ambience of the restaurant is good, but being given worn dirty paper menus was clue number one. In spite of being a veteran server, the waiter was unable to tell us the origin of any of their seafood. My wife's lamb came out very undercooked. It was sent back. In the meantime I tasted my salmon, had the flavor of bacon. Nowhere in the description of my salmon dish was bacon. When the the lamb came back out it was still undercooked and tough and stringy. At that point we requested a manager to speak to. After waiting 5 minutes, we were informed that the manager was the bartender and it would be some time to speak to him. We paid & left"
    Dined on 6/24/2014
  • "The wife and I enjoyed a night out at this beautiful restaurant. It was kind of Loud and the tables kind of large for two people to talk without screaming. Overall the service was great, the food with to die for, and the night was beautiful."
    Dined on 6/21/2014
  • "This was our first visit to this restaurant. We went for the Restaurant week promotion but misunderstood the pricing. We thought it was 2 dinners for $30 but it was $30 each. We discovered this when the bill came. The salad and spring roll appetizer where excellent with nice presentation. The main entrees of Macadamia Nut chicken and atlantic cod were average and looked exactly alike served over sweet potato mash and verts. The chocolate torte dessert was awesome. The service was excellent. The men's bathroom was dirty which surprised me because we were seated when the restaurant opened at 5pm. Overall we were not impressed with this restaurant."
    Dined on 6/21/2014
  • "Outstanding food, and service. Strongly encourage reservations! A nice range of selections on the menu and the apps are to die for!"
    Dined on 6/21/2014
  • "Love this restaurant, it never disappoints. They have the best rack of lamb and it always is cooked to perfection. The Crème Brule has to be one of the best endings for a amazing meal. The only negative I find is that sometimes the wait staff is not quit on top of things like insuring your water glass is filled or offering to bring another drink. (Does help keep the bar bill down) Prices are very reasonable for the quality of the food you receive. Strongly suggest anyone looking for a fine dining experience to go to 717 South. My overall rating reflects my feeling about 171 South at the end of the evening."
    Dined on 6/18/2014
  • "We have been to 717 before and will continue to frequent this business. Food was excellent!!! Your Open Table service is excellent, fast and easy!"
    Dined on 6/14/2014
  • "Picked this restaurant based on the area, menu & rating. Although we had to wait 1/2 an hour after our reservation to be seated, nothing else disappointed! Food was delicious! Server was friendly & knowledgable. Would definitely return!!!"
    Dined on 6/13/2014
  • "The food and service was superb! All I can think of is Yum."
    Dined on 6/11/2014
  • "This place has a good vibe and excellent food. I had the short rib spring rolls and the hanger steak. They were both excellent and distinctive. Beer selection is pretty good and the wines are solid with good pricing. Some of the entrees are quite pricy but there are plenty of choices that are moderate and quality is very very good. Servers were knowledgeable about the menu. Definitely a must visit."
    Dined on 6/9/2014
  • "It was our first time eating here. We went on recommendations from a friend. My wife stated her meal was very good. She had the stuffed chicken. My meal was not that good. I had the lollipop pork chop, which was burned on the grill. The black char on the pork overwhelmed any flavors I was supposed to be tasting. However, the macaroni side was delicious. We may give it another try, but no time soon. "
    Dined on 6/7/2014
  • "I've been to 717 South a few times and I always enjoy my experience there! The food is delicious and definitely lives up to my expectations. I can't wait to go back and try something new! "
    Dined on 6/6/2014
  • "Great restaurant, great location. Horrible service and unenthusiastic waiter. Hanger steak was absolutely disgusting, had a terrible fishy taste, another plate was brought out. A little better, but not acceptable for such a classy, white tablecloth restaurant. I asked for a second glass of wine after my glass was empty for 15 min. It never was brought to me. Waiter was more interested in completing his closing duties than attending to our table (at 10:30), I won't be returning nor recommending it to friends. "
    Dined on 5/30/2014
  • "I have been to 717 many times it is usually very good but this last time I was very disappointed. I ordered the Sea Bass special when the dish came the fish portion was about 3 oz. I sent it back and the response from the Chef was that is it. I was not happy and requested a different dish. I must say that our server Monica was excellent and truly cared about our satisfaction and for that reason I will give 717 another try at some point but the chef that was there has no clue about customer satisfaction. "
    Dined on 5/31/2014
  • "We had a group of 6 dining for a special birthday celebration. The food was excellent, but we were not impressed that it took 20 min to receive our drinks. No bread or anything was offered to hold us over. Overall the environment was pleasing. "
    Dined on 5/31/2014
  • "Delicious kale salad. Wonderful service. Very nice dinner."
    Dined on 5/27/2014
  • "Really good food in a very eclectic area. Good beer selection and fun place to have a great time with friends."
    Dined on 1/3/2014
  • "717 South quickly became a favorite lunch spot of mine and I had been wanting to visit for dinner for quite some time. My husband and I were very pleased with the evening atmosphere. The food was absolutely amazing! The crab bisque is the best I've ever had with lumps of super tender crab meat. I also had the mushroom risotto with chicken and I can honestly say it was one of the best meals I have had in a restaurant, ever. As my husband and I recounted our last 5 visits to upscale restaurants we quickly realized that this dining experience at 717 South had surpassed them all. I can't wait to go back!"
    Dined on 5/24/2014
  • "The menu had such an array of choices and the group that I was with sampled quite a lot of them. All were outstanding. It would be very hard to pick a favorite appetizer because they were all in competition for "my favorite" award. "
    Dined on 5/24/2014
  • "Arrived a little late for our reservation and had to expedite service to make performance at the PBPAC. Our server, Samantha, we very cooperative and efficient. Meal was excellent, timely, and tasty. Highly recommend the grilled pork chop."
    Dined on 5/23/2014
  • "This time we had lunch (a professional group of colleagues). Although not quite as tasty as the Mother's Day brunch, nevertheless, the split pea soup and the Thai salad that I had were done well. In particular, the beef in the Thai salad was outstanding."
    Dined on 5/16/2014
  • "The menu is thoughtful and the food carefully prepared. The service is good, we eat here often and can expect a certain level of consistency. It can get a little loud, the seating is slightly cramped but still appropriate for a romantic dinner."
    Dined on 5/8/2014
  • "It has been years since we last dined at 717 South. Having read about all of the changes taking place, we chose it for a Mother's Day brunch. The menu for the day consisted of different kinds of omelets. I had the smoked salmon omelet, served with an absolutely delicious side of grits, and my husband chose the lump crab with béarnaise sauce omelet, also with the grits. Both were delicious. What was outstanding was the grits recipe (a white cheddar cheese grits with garlic and basal). For dessert, we ordered the upside down apple pie with walnuts, another outstanding experience. We will be returning to 717 South soon."
    Dined on 5/11/2014
  • "We have been to 717 many times and, as always, it was really good. They have a new menu (since the last time I had been) and I really enjoyed it. I highly recommend the Moscow mule for a drink and the shrimp and grits as an appetizer. This place never disappoints. We try to make it a point to hit up 717 every few months. I always walk away thinking how reasonably priced it is... our table got 7 cocktails/drinks, 2 appetizers, 4 entrees and with tip everything came out to $175ish (we did have a groupon too). "
    Dined on 5/9/2014
  • "We came to celebrate Mother's Day & it was perfect. While not idyllic for children, we had a two year old in tow. The staff was very accommodating & it worked out great! You can't beat 717 food! There's something for everyone & we all loved our meal."
    Dined on 5/10/2014
  • "Fantastic drink menu, great apps and entree selections. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Went in with "groupon" or some form of discount and would return even without one. Probably best to go for a late dinner as was pretty empty when we went, but that could just be the "late night" eating mentality of the area. That's only if your looking to eat with more than just you and the staff. "
    Dined on 5/4/2014
  • "When we first viewed the menu, we were a little disappointed. However, we stayed and order the Asian Pot Roast and Duck Burger which were both excellent. Goes to show you that you can't judge a restaurant by the menu. Would definitely return. Lots of interesting selections to sample."
    Dined on 5/1/2014
  • "Been here 5 times in the last 8 months. 2 were walk ins. Nice table. Nice service. Nice meal. 3 were on Open Table Reservations. Back in the corner, glassed in room near the back door. Late service. Maybe poor communication between the hostess and the servers. Once? Not 3 times. We decided to try again tonight. Open Table res so back to the glass room. 10 minutes to get water. Then offered drinks. Service a little better from then on. But the food was off tonight. Cioppino was greasy on the top and the fish had, yes, that fish smell. My snapper was OK. Just OK. If you go, suggest you walk in rather than use open table because it seems to matter."
    Dined on 5/3/2014
  • "We had a birthday gathering for my adult son and the restaurant was perfect, large table, great service, and the food was fantastic. The menu was not overloaded but had something for everyone in the group. I live out of town but this is the second time I've been there in a year and have not been disappointed. "
    Dined on 5/1/2014
  • "Second time there - this time without the kids. Another memorable dining experience. Chef Robert Masson is amazing!"
    Dined on 4/25/2014
  • "This is just an average looking place but with excellent food. The service was good except we had to ask to things like salt which was not on the tables. Medium noisy. Did appreciate parking available in the back with no valet we had to pay for. Not a very big place so reservations a good idea. The food really was excellent."
    Dined on 4/24/2014
  • "The menu is creative and tasty. Upscale casual atmosphere with friendly service and a noise level that allows for easy conversation. "
    Dined on 4/22/2014
  • "Food and service were great. Get the macadamia encrusted chicken. I will be back soon."
    Dined on 4/18/2014
  • "The service was not at it's best that night. When we walked in there were 2 hostesses talking to one another and we weren't greeted until another walked up several minutes later. We then asked for a booth and were told they were all taken (with two open) and told that we had a great table. It was next to the kitchen and every waiter bumped me on the way out. The waiter was just ok and the food was just ok. Others at our table got the sea bass and said it was great."
    Dined on 4/18/2014